Local TidyTowns groups receive awards

Local groups received their SuperValu TidyTowns awards for 2022 at a prize-giving ceremony in Kilronan Castle, Co. Roscommon recently.

Among the award winners, which were announced in October of last year, Keadue won the overall regional title as well as the county award for Roscommon, while Castlecoote was ‘highly commended’, Cloontuskert was ‘commended’ and Moore took home the Endeavour award.

Ballintubber was the national Heritage award winner while Kilteevan was recognised in the Sustainable Development and Waters and Communities categories.

Roscommon joined Keadue as a gold medal winner while Castlecoote took silver, and Ballintubber and Cloontuskert took home bronze.

The prizes were presented by Deputy Frank Feighan on behalf of Minister for Rural and Community Development Heather Humphreys, and Richard Lennon, regional manager with SuperValu.

Deputy Feighan congratulated the winners and made reference to the recent launch of the 2023 SuperValu TidyTowns competition, which this year celebrates 65 years of environmental and community initiatives.

Deputy Feighan said: “I am delighted to be in a position to attend the awards on behalf of Minister Humphreys and I encourage committees to avail of the €1.4 million in grant funding that Minister Humphreys announced at the results of the 2022 competition last October.

“In recent years, thousands of individuals have volunteered with TidyTown groups and in doing so have made our country a place that we can all be proud of.

“I have such admiration for the volunteers from the eight counties in the North West and West region and for all the volunteers who have put their shoulder to the wheel in the last 65 years to make our communities more attractive, inclusive and sustainable places for everyone”.