Local communities to receive over €1.4m!

Thirteen local villages are set to receive over €1.4 million under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme towards the significant enhancement of their communities and adjoining areas.

In Co. Roscommon, Tarmonbarry will receive €200,000 and the villages of Dysart, Knockcroghery, Rooskey, Four Roads, Croghan and Lecarrow will each receive €100,000 for local projects, while Creggs and Castleblakeney in Galway will each receive €100,000.

In Co. Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon will receive €200,000 and Jamestown will receive €99,900, while Lanesboro in Co. Longford will receive €71,820.

Independent TD Denis Naughten welcomed the announcement this week.

“The funding is being made available for village enhancement, improved pedestrian access, remote working and study facilities, as well as enhancing visitor and tourist experiences, all with the objective of making these villages better places to live, work and visit.

“This investment in the villages concerned will also support local job creation and provide a much-needed boost to the economy of these villages”.

The Lecarrow funding will go towards the provision of a footpath from the marina to the village centre as well as outdoor benches, public lighting and picnic tables. Knockcroghery will be enhanced with street furniture, an artistic installation and landscaping.

The €100,000 allocated to Four Roads will see the installation of footpaths, street lighting, a bike rack and new paint scheme. Croghan will also see a pedestrian paved network and landscaping. €90,000 will go towards the upgrading of the heritage centre in Creggs to include a remote working hub and outdoor cinema and bandstand.

Dysart, meanwhile, will receive €100,000 for the development of a community study and digital hub at the local community centre.

Castleblakeney will benefit from an outdoor recreation area, playground, outdoor gym and walking routes.

Carrick will see the creation of a town centre community venue and Jamestown will be enhanced with the provision of a footpath linking the circular walking and cycle route.

Fine Gael Senator Aisling Dolan said the funding would be a welcome boost for hard-working community groups.

“This success by groups is testament to the fantastic community spirit in Co. Roscommon coming together to improve our towns and villages.

“Rural development is crucial, especially with respect to opportunities to support people working or studying remotely.

“It is making our regional areas more attractive to live, to work and to visit. I’d like to thank the volunteers in these groups for the time and commitment in putting together strong applications for the benefit of all in their community”.

Fianna Fáil Senator Eugene Murphy was delighted to see €200,000 allocated for the creation of a public space with outdoor dining facilities and paved areas in Tarmonbarry.

“This is a project close to my heart and one I have campaigned and worked on for some time.

“Also, in my own locality it’s great to see an allocation of €100,000 for Rooskey for a lighting scheme, footpath repair and replacement, tree planting and signage scheme which is most welcome”.

Independent councillor Tom Crosby said the funding for Tarmonbarry would also see a traffic management system and pedestrian crossing introduced in the village.

“I also welcome funding of €100,000 for Rooskey village to construct a walkway/cycleway to join the village footpath with the Killinaker Bridge.

“I am delighted with the total funding of €300,000 for much-needed development. This  will be a great boost towards further enhancing both tourist villages on the River Shannon,” he said.

Fellow Independent Cllr. Donal Kilduff said funding for villages in the Athlone Municipal Area has ensured a brighter start to the New Year.

“I am particularly delighted that four of the successful applications, Dysart, Four Roads, Lecarrow and Knockcroghery are in the Athlone Municipal with the remaining three in the Boyle Municipal and it is also a source of great personal pride that two of the successful villages are in my home parish. Our community groups and activists have been completely selfless when it came to the preparation of these arduous applications,” he said.

Cllr. Kilduff concluded by paying tribute to community groups, Cathaoirleach Laurence Fallon, and Roscommon County Council staff including Majella Hunt and Nollaig Whyte.