Lisaniskey NS to represent Roscommon Credit Union at National Quiz Final

Lisaniskey NS were winners and go into national finals. Front row, left to right: Bernie Moran, CEO, Roscommon Credit Union & Vice-Chair Chapter 15; Michael Tierney, Claire Featherston, Alice Featherston and Dylan Hoban. Back row: Anthony Lee, Roscommon Credit Union, Pat Cornally, Chair Chapter 15, and School Principal Noel Dervan.

Lisaniskey National School claimed top spot at the regional finals of the National Credit Union School Quiz, which was held on Friday last in the Athlone Springs Hotel.

Roscommon Credit Union were represented by two teams on the night: Lisaniskey in the under 13 age category and Scoil Bhríde Four Mile House in the under 11 age category.

The winning quiz team, Lisaniskey National School, comprised of Michael Tierney, Claire Featherston, Alice Featherston and Dylan Hoban, joined by school Principal Noel Dervan.

It ends a two-decade wait for Roscommon Credit Union to be represented at the national final of the credit union school quiz, to be held on Sunday, 2nd of April 2023 in the RDS, Dublin.

Bernie Moran, CEO, Roscommon Credit Union, was in attendance at the regional final and said both teams did phenomenally well. Scoil Bhríde were unlucky not to be placed on the night, but gave it their all, and it was a fantastic achievement to represent their local credit union at regional level.

Scoil Bhríde were represented on the night by Rory Lally, Sadhbh Kelleher, Bhuvi Bhandori and Senan Naughton, along with school Principal Shane O’Donnell.

Bernie added that there was stiff competition for both teams at local and regional level. “They can be very proud of their efforts on the night and the way in which they carried themselves, representing not only their school and parents, but also the local credit union”.