Let the games commence …GAA club clashes revealed

GAME ON: The draws for the 2020 Roscommon GAA Club Championships were held in socially distancing circumstances at Hyde Park on Monday evening. SEAMUS DUKE reports…

Having won the title for the first time in their history in 2019, Padraig Pearses will face Boyle, Michael Glavey’s and intermediate champions Tulsk in Group C of the Hodson Bay SFC.

The champions, and last year’s semi-finalists Boyle will be strong favourites to emerge from the group when the championships begin on the weekend of the 25th and 26th of July.

As usual there are some interesting sub-plots ahead. For example, new Western Gaels manager Fergal O’Donnell will come up against his former club teammate and good friend Liam McNeill as his new charges and last year’s beaten finalists Roscommon Gaels will meet in Group B. St. Croan’s and Fuerty will complete that group.

There will be two big local derbies in Group A as St. Brigid’s will meet old rivals Clann na nGael and Elphin will play Strokestown.

In the Mulryan Construction IFC, Group A is a real ‘Group of death’, as last year’s beaten finalists Oran, Kilmore, Castlerea St. Kevin’s and Conor Cox’s new club, Eire Og, will all fight it out for the quarter-final spots.

Championship favourites St. Faithleach’s will face Creggs, Kilbride and St. Aidan’s in Group B. Group C looks very evenly matched with St. Dominic’s, Shannon Gaels, St. Barry’s and last year’s junior champions Ballinameen ready to do battle.

In the King & Moffatt JF ‘A’ Championship there is a real local feel to Group A with three neighbours in the five-team section. Roscommon Gaels, St. Joseph’s and St. Dominic’s are alongside Western Gaels and Castlerea St. Kevin’s.

St. Brigid’s will fancy their chances in Group B (alongside St. Ronan’s, Boyle and St. Michael’s) while Kilglass Gaels will be hoping to bounce back to the intermediate ranks immediately. They are in a group with Padraig Pearses, Elphin and Clann na nGael.

The football championships will see the top two teams in each group qualify for the quarter-finals with the third-placed teams in the respective groups playing off for the final two spots in the last eight. The bottom team in each group will be involved in a relegation play-off. The championships will start on the weekend of the 25th and 26th of July and the fixtures will be published later this week.

In the Kepak SHC holders Four Roads are in a tough group alongside Padraig Pearses, Oran and St. Dominic’s. Tremane, Roscommon Gaels and Athleague will compete in Group B. The hurling championship will start on the weekend of the 17th of July.


The full draw:


Hodson Bay Hotel Roscommon SFC

Group A: Strokestown, St. Brigid’s, Elphin, Clann na nGael. Group B: Roscommon Gaels, St. Croan’s, Western Gaels, Fuerty. Group C: Padraig Pearses, Boyle, Michael Glavey’s, Tulsk Lord Edward’s.


Mulryan Construction Roscommon IFC

Group A: Oran, Kilmore, Castlerea St. Kevin’s, Eire Og. Group B: St. Faithleach’s, Creggs, Kilbride, St. Aidan’s. Group C: St. Dominic’s, Shannon Gaels, St. Barry’s, Ballinameen.


King & Moffat Roscommon JFC

Group A: Roscommon Gaels, St. Joseph’s, Western Gaels, St. Dominic’s, Castlerea St. Kevin’s. Group B: St. Brigid’s, St. Ronan’s, Boyle, St. Michael’s. Group C: Kilglass Gaels, Padraig Pearses, Elphin, Clann na nGael.


Kepak Roscommon SHC

Group A: Padraig Pearses, Oran, Four Roads, St. Dominic’s. Group B: Tremane, Roscommon Gaels, Athleague.