Let the drama begin!



Roscommon Drama Festival 2018 launch


The launch of Roscommon Drama Festival 2018, which runs for nine nights from Friday, 2nd of March to Saturday, 10th of March in Roscommon Arts Centre, took place in Áras an Chontae on Wednesday of last week.      

  Chairperson of Roscommon Drama Festival Committee, Caroline Egan, welcomed everyone to the launch. Ms. Egan thanked the Council Chief Executive Eugene Cummins and his staff for making the fine facility available for the launch and for their welcome and hospitality. She expressed appreciation to the sponsors of the festival, to Averyl Dooher and her staff at Roscommon Arts Centre, and to the local media for the publicity they provide.

  She thanked Declan Molloy of Molloy’s Bakery and Fine Food Emporium for sponsoring and providing the finger food. She had a special word of welcome for the children who had participated in the story writing competition, their parents and teachers and to Cormican’s School and Art Supplies for sponsoring prizes for overall winners.

  Cllr. Orla Leyden, Cathaoirleach of Roscommon County Council, said that she was delighted to be invited to launch the Roscommon Drama Festival 2018, which she said was one of the highlights of the cultural calendar in the county. She said that promotion of the arts was a priority for Roscommon Co. Council and she was pleased that visiting groups remarked on the fine facility in Roscommon Arts Centre.

  Cllr. Leyden commended Caroline Egan and her committee for their courage and commitment in organising such an important event year after year.


The following children were presented with their prizes – Best Overall: Heather O’Sullivan, Knockcroghery N.S.; 1st Overall (6th Class): Sinead Connerton, Cloontuskert N.S.; 2nd Overall (6th Class): Chloe McNamara, Lisaniskey N.S.; 1st Overall (5th Class): Rian Kingi, Roxboro N.S.; 2nd Overall (5th Class): Hazel Kelly, Lisaniskey N.S.

Best from each school

Ballagh N.S.: Lyndsey Gibbons; Ballymurray N.S.: Gavin Staunton; Cloontuskert N.S.: Oisin McDermott; Feevagh N.S.: Niamh McCarroll; Fuerty N.S.: Anna Higgins; Gaelscoil de Híde: Conor Pearce; Kilteevan N.S.: Ruth Cunningham; Knockcroghery N.S.: Faye Reynolds; Lisaniskey N.S.: Niamh Walsh; Roxboro N.S.: Izidro Ribas; Runnamoate N.S.: Natasha Shaughnessy; Scoil Bhride, Fourmilehouse N.S.: Adam Murphy; Tisrara N.S.: Brian Mannion.

* See the Drama Festival advertisement in this edition for full programme details.