Launch of Roscommon-Longford Division Fourth Annual Garda Youth Awards

An Garda Síochána, Roscommon/Longford Division is delighted to announce the launch of the fourth annual Roscommon/Longford Garda Youth Awards, in association with Roscommon and Longford County Councils who are sponsoring the initiative again this year.

The Roscommon/Longford Garda Youth Awards celebrate outstanding young people between the ages of 13 and 21 years. An Garda Síochána, Roscommon-Longford, in conjunction with Roscommon and Longford County Councils recognise that a lot of good work is being done by young people in every community in the counties.

The nomination process is now open and An Garda Síochána in Roscommon and Longford is now inviting the public to nominate a young person they know, who was committed to making a difference to their community during 2021.

  The Roscommon/Longford Division were delighted to have a National Winner in 2021. Three young men from Strokestown – Jack Beirne, Mark Rogers and Andrew Jordan – won the National Group Award with their initiative ‘A Classic for Kids Cancer’ after buying and restoring a 1956 Massey Ferguson 20 Tractor and raffling it in aid of Childhood Cancer Foundation Ireland. The fundraising effort raised over €64,000 for the charity.

Gardaí will be distributing nomination forms to schools, youth groups and voluntary organisations right across the counties of Roscommon and Longford via email in the coming weeks. Nomination forms can also be requested from and are available for download on, and

The deadline for nominations is 5 pm on Wednesday, 15th June 2022.

Nomination forms can be emailed to or posted to the Community Policing Unit, Boyle Garda Station, Co. Roscommon.

Four categories

There are four separate categories for young people:

  • Individual Award – Making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live in.
  • Group Award – Two or more young people making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live in.
  • Special Achievement Award – Overcame difficult circumstances, defied all the odds and whose commitment deserves recognition.
  • Community Safety Award – Through a crime prevention or safety initiative/innovation have made their community a safer place to live in.