Ladies GAA: Five star Wexford end ladies’ league hopes


Lidl Ladies National Football League Semi-Final: Wexford 5-8 Roscommon 0-9

It stands to reason that if you concede five goals then you are not going to win any important game and that was the case here as Roscommon’s defence was simply too porous in this semi-final played in fine weather conditions at Clane, Co. Kildare last Sunday.

  Wexford dominated this game from the start and only for some poor shooting the margin could have been even more. Wexford exploded from the blocks at the start of the game and they blitzed Roscommon. The scoring rate was low early on as Wexford dominated possession but had only two points to show until their first goal arrived in the 14th minute when a poor kick out led to Fiona Rowe converting.

  Then, a couple of minutes later, Roscommon conceded another soft goal and in the 19th minute Wexford were 2-3 to 0-0 ahead. But Roscommon improved before half-time and points from Rebecca Finan and Natalie McHugh (2) saw the situation improve and by half-time it was Wexford 2-4 Roscommon 0-4.

  Fiona Rowe added a third Wexford goal in the 39th minute. Then Clara Donnelly got the Slayneysider’s fourth after 50 minutes and five minutes later Niamh Butler grabbed Wexford’s fifth goal. Wexford will now play Tipperary in the Division Three final.

  For Roscommon, Natalie McHugh, Aisling McAuliffe, Jenny Higgins and Sinead Kenny played well but it was a disappointing performance and now all eyes will turn to the championship.

Wexford: M R Kelly; M Doyle, M Cullen, S Harding-Kenny; C Donnelly (1-2), R Murphy, G Hearne; B Breen (0-1), K Kearney; E O’Brien (0-1), C Murray (0-2), N Butler (1-0); F Rowe (2-0), A Murphy (1-2), S Cloake.

Subs: R Bennett for Hearne, N Mernagh for Rowe, E Cahill for O’Brien, E Neville for Butler, B Doyle for Cullen.

Roscommon: C Manning; H Ennis, A McLoone, A McAulliffe (0-1); S Kenny, B McHugh, G Dufficy; L Fleming, J Higgins (0-2); A Kelly, M Freyne, J Cregg; R Finan (0-2), N McHugh (0-3), C Beirne.

Subs: K Roddy for Manning. S Brady for Beirne, R Fitzmaurice (0-1) for Freyne, J Downey for Kelly.

Referee: G Corrigan (Down)