Ladies are beaten

Roscommon 0-4 Galway 5-14 The Roscommon ladies team were beaten comprehensively by a far superior Galway team in Ballinlough on Sunday last. Playing with a strong wind in the first half, Galway held a commanding lead at half-time and indeed it was a lead they were never to relinquish as they ran out comfortable winners in the end. Team: Sarah Finnerty; Maria Kenaghan, Fiona Gavin, Emma Hussey; Claire Kelly, Annette McGeeney, Sinead Cooney; Michelle Carey, Tara Taylor; Emer Casey, Corina Gormley, Jenny Downey; Nicola Tully, Mairead Thompson, Pamela Kedian. Substitutions: Kathryn O’Sullivan, Suzanne Kenaghan. Roscommon U-14: The Roscommon U-14 ladies brought All-Ireland honours to the county as they won the Division Three All-Ireland blitz. On the way to the final they had impressive victories over Longford on a score-line of Roscommon 3-7 Longford 0-1,  over Waterford by 2-7 to 0-2, over Kilkenny by 3-7 to 1-0 and finally Sligo by 1-7 to 0-1. In the semi-final they beat Tipperary by 2-1 to 1-2 and in the final they beat Wicklow by 3-3 to 1-1. Well done to all concerned on a marvellous achievement. Panel: Pooky Mitchell, Bridget Keane, Maggie Wallace, Jane McGowan, Deirdre Regan, Niamh Toolan, Gillian Dufficy, Natalie McHugh, Orla Gately, Joanne Cregg, Maeve Holmes, Katie McLoughlin, Aine Kelly, Siobhan Greevy, Laura Brudell, Cait Mullooly, Niamh Flanagan, Darerce Beirne, Rebecca Coyle, Sheena Rogers, Shauna Naughton, Caroline Gunning, Rhona McDonagh, Rochelle Mullaney, Caolieann Beirne, Ciara McDonnell, Sandra Deery, Kylie Roddy, Ciara Kelly, Saffron Cull.