Keadue leads the way in Tidy Towns 2019




Keadue once again took top spot in County Roscommon in the annual Tidy Towns competition as Glaslough in Co. Monaghan was crowned the Overall winner.

  Keadue earned a mark of 342 out of a possible 470, up six marks on last year and just four off Overall Winner Glaslough.

  Keadue Tidy Towns members expressed their delight at the result and the town’s 10th Gold Medal. Keadue also received €1,000 as the county’s tidiest location as well as €900 as a Gold Medallist.

  A statement from the committee read: “Keadue Tidy Towns would like to thank all our volunteers, Scoil Chil Ronain, residents, businesses and various committees for their ongoing support. Thanks also to our RSS worker, Roscommon County Council, Roscommon Leader Partnership and our local SuperValu”.

  Meanwhile, there were further success stories in the county with Castlecoote and Roscommon winning Gold Medals and Ballintubber earning Bronze. Castlecoote was also named as ‘Highly Commended’ in the county category, winning €800.

  There was also success for Cloontuskert in the ‘A’ category and Tarmonbarry in the ‘C’ category. Cloontuskert volunteer James O’Neill also received a ‘highly commended’ award in the Community Heroes section. 

  Kilteevan’s Cloonlarge Loop Walk was also second in the national sustainable development award and received €800 for the local community.

  Fine Gael Senator Maura Hopkins offered her congratulations to all local winners.

  “I want to congratulate all those across County Roscommon and East Galway on their achievements. It is great to see that our Tidy Towns committees, who work tirelessly throughout the year to improve their local surroundings, have been recognised for the work they do,” she said.