It was tight, but hurlers Seale deal against Fingal

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A Roscommon 1-14 Fingal 0-16

Roscommon continued their winning ways in the National Hurling League Division 3A when they defeated a gallant Fingal team by the slimmest of margins last Sunday afternoon in Athleague. A goal by Tomas Seale ultimately proved decisive.

   Roscommon had a great start with a point in the first minute from Cathal Dolan. Gerry Fallon, Liam Kilcline and Adrian Murphy also scored Roscommon points in the opening ten minutes.

  Then a good run up the right wing by Adrian Murphy and a forty-yard pass to the unmarked Tomas Seale saw the latter clinically put the ball in the Fingal net. It was the only goal of the game. Roscommon were then 1-5 to 0-1 up after twelve minutes. This was Roscommon’s best period of the match.

  Fingal then upped their performance and put pressure on Roscommon, forcing the concession of a lot of frees, which Fingal’s John Sheridan duly punished. Points from Gerry Fallon and Cathal Dolan and ‘man of the match’ for Roscommon, Eamon Flanagan, saw Roscommon score three more from play and the home side went in at half-time leading by 1-10 to 0-8.

  Most of the second half belonged to Fingal, who kept chiselling away at the Roscommon lead. Points from Fallon, O’Meara, Flanagan and Murphy just kept the Rossies in front.

  Then a crucial interception by Ciaran Shaw in the final minutes of the game saved a certain Fingal goal.

  Roscommon held out to win by the narrowest of margins. Roscommon were again very wasteful in front of goal, with twelve wides. They also gave away a lot of frees which almost cost them dearly – a total of twelve points came from frees and one ‘65.

  Best for Roscommon were Eamon Flanagan, Adrian Murphy, Liam Kilcline, Tomas Seale and the full-back line of Alan Moore, Peter Kellehan and Ciaran Shaw.

Roscommon: Noel Fallon; Alan Moore, Peter Kellehan, Ciaran Shaw; Shane Curley, Michael Kelly, Tomas Seale (1-0); Eamon Flanagan (0-4), Cathal Dolan (0-2); John Moran, Jason Kilkenny, Gerry Fallon (0-4, two frees, one 65); Adrian Murphy (0-2), Ronan O’Meara (0-1), Liam Kilcline (0-1). Subs: Cillian Egan for J. Moran, Tommy Doyle for S. Curley, Naos Connaughton for Ronan O’Meara.