Hurlers master Monaghan to maintain promotion push

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A
Roscommon 1-12 Monaghan 0-10

Roscommon maintained their good start to the league with another brace of points against Monaghan at Athleague last Sunday. Roscommon never looked like losing the game but they found it hard to shake off a Monaghan side who battled right to the end.

  In a game played in very difficult conditions scores were hard to come by and a goal in the 25th minute from Adrian Murphy proved to be the crucial score of the game. Manager Justin Campbell will be very happy to have another two points in the bag and also a win against Monaghan who had defeated Roscommon in their last two league encounters.

  The swirling wind and squally showers made it very difficult for the players and scores were hard to come by, especially in the first half. Stephen Lambe pointed for Monaghan after 10 seconds but it was 13 minutes before we saw another score, an equalising point from Cillian Egan.

  Monaghan regained the lead when Fergal Rafter pointed in the 17th minute and then in the 25th minute the Roscommon goal came after great work from Gerry Fallon who set up Adrian Murphy who drilled the ball to the Monaghan net. Gerry Fallon (free) and Niall Garland (free) exchanged points before half-time to leave the score at the break, Roscommon 1-2 Monaghan 0-3.

  Roscommon could always keep their noses in front although they were never totally convincing in the second half. Cillian Egan scored three fine points from play and it helped Roscommon to a five-point lead (1-9 to 0-7) by the 55th minute. Monaghan were proving hard to shake off and a couple of pointed frees from Niall Garland reduced the margin to just three.

  Late points from Ronan O’Meara (2) and Gerry Fallon saw Roscommon close out the game and the two points were in the bag.

  Best for Roscommon on the day were Alan Moore, Peter Kellehan, Johnny Moran, Ronan O’Meara and Cillian Egan.

Roscommon: Noel Fallon; Alan Moore, Peter Kellehan, Ciaran Shaw; Shane Curley, Micheal Kelly (0-1, free), Warren Boyle; Eamon Flanagan (0-1), Cathal Dolan; Johnny Moran, Jason Kilkenny (0-1), Gerry Fallon (0-2, 1 free); Adrian Murphy (1-0), Ronan O’Meara (0-3), Cillian Egan (0-4). Subs: Jamie Lawlor for Moran (57).

Monaghan: Kieran Hannify; Brian Flanagan, Patrick Finnegan, Brendan Connor; Stephen Forde, Peter Treanor, Conor McKenna; Declan Crowe, Conor Boyle; Fergal Rafter (0-1), Mark Treanor (0-1), Brian McGuigan; Niall Garland (0-5, frees), Stephen Lambe (0-3, 2 frees) Sean Leonard. Subs: Shane McNally for Finnegan (h-t), Ger Ruddy for Connor (45), Ronan Curran for Boyle (62), Eoin Leonard for Forde (68).

Referee: Kevin Brady (Louth).