Hurlers get that sinking feeling again


Christy Ring Cup Relegation Play-off: Mayo 1-25 Roscommon 2-12


Roscommon hurlers’ miserable year was completed last Saturday evening in Carrick-on-Shannon when a devastating last 20 minutes saw Mayo pull clear to win convincingly in this relegation play-off. This defeat means that Roscommon will once again play Nicky Rackard Cup hurling in 2018 to add to their relegation in the league.

  The absence of so many players for various reasons has hit the Roscommon panel this year and last Saturday Jason Kilkenny, Noel Fallon and Johnny Coyne were also missing from the starting line-up for this game.

  Mayo were probably the better side in the first half but some poor shooting allied to a Roscommon side who took full advantage of an Eamon Flanagan goal after 13 minutes meant that there was little in it. Padraig Kelly (2), Robbie Fallon (free) and Naos Connaughton scored some fine points for Roscommon and by half-time there were only two points between the teams: Mayo 0-11 Roscommon 1-6.

  Mayo took over on the re-start but Roscommon were handed another lifeline in the 46th minute when Cathal Dolan flicked home another goal but Kenny Feeney was in deadly accurate form for Mayo from frees and play and they began to pull away as the game went on.

  Mayo’s goal came shortly after Roscommon’s second when Darren McTigue was on target. In the final 10 minutes Mayo fired over some quality scores with Corey Scahill, Joseph McManus and Padraig Hickey on target as the Roscommon challenge faded,

Mayo: M Parsons; B Hunt (0-1), G McManus, M Morley; C Freeman, E McLoughlin, S Morley; K McDermott (0-3), D McLoughlin (0-1); J McManus (0-6), D Kenny, D McTigue (1-0); J Cotter, K Feeney (0-11), C Scahill (0-1). Subs: S Mulroy for Freeman, S Boland for Morley, C Charlton for McTigue, P Hickey (0-1) for McLoughlin, C Murray for Cotter.

Roscommon: J Fallon; A Moore, P Kellehan, D Loughnane; M Beirne (0-1), P Kelly (0-3), P Nolan; S Curley (0-1), T Seale; E Flanagan (1-0), G Fallon, G Keenan; R Fallon (0-3), N Connaughton (0-1), C Dolan (1-3). Subs: G Egan for Moore, D Keaveney for Keenan, E Costello for Fallon, D Dolan for Flanagan, H Rooney for Dolan.

Referee: R McGann.