How ‘matchmaker Mulryan’ brought Roy and Niall together!

Seamus Duke Roscommon and St. Dominics dual player Liam Murray was chosen as the Roscommon Herald/ Supervalu Roscommon sports star of the year for 2007 at an awards function at the Abbey Hotel, Roscommon last Friday night.   The junior sports star of the year award went to the Elphin Community College team who won the All-Ireland senior ‘A’ volleyball title in 2007.     The awards were presented by the night’s special guest, Roscommon businessman Sean Mulryan, who told the crowd that he was overwhelmed by the achievements of the sports people who were at the function.    In a fine address Mr. Mulryan also revealed how he had been the man responsible for getting Niall Quinn and Roy Keane back speaking together at Sunderland!   ‘I am not a huge soccer fan but Niall Quinn asked me several times to get involved in Sunderland so I did – reluctantly – and I was responsible for putting together the consortium that was formed to take over the club’ he said.   ‘I was talking to Alex Ferguson one day and he told me that Roy Keane would make a brilliant manager and I contacted him (Keane) and asked to meet him. When Roy walked in the door and he saw Niall Quinn there he asked was it all a bit of a joke. But I asked him to come in and after about twenty minutes he asked to talk to Niall in private and they disappeared for a while and when they came back they announced that they had settled their differences – and the rest is history!’ he said.   Special achievement awards were presented to Monica Finn and John Cormican who took part in the World Transplant Games in Bangkok in 2007 and to Emma Finneran, Bernadette Carr and James Glover who were all part of the Irish team who took part in the Special Olympics in Beijing in October.   The other award winners were: St. Nathy’s College U-16 girls Basketball team; St. Josephs College (Summerhill) girls soccer team; Anna McCormack, Roscommon (Soccer); Liam Murray (Gaelic Games) overall winner; Donal Ward (Boxing); Henry Loughnane (Soccer); St. Josephs National School, Boyle (Soccer); Michael Higgins Ballaghaderreen (Basketball); Michael Kelly, Four Roads (Hurling); Lauren O’Riordan, Roscommon (Handball); Mervyn Connaughton (Hurling); Cathal McHugh (Gaelic Football); Elphin Community College (Basketball) overall junior winners.   The Hall of Fame award went to long-standing Roscommon & District Soccer League PRO Vincent Brooks.