Hot meals for 18 more primary schools in Roscommon – Dolan

Senator Aisling Dolan has welcomed the announcement this week from An Taoiseach Simon Harris and Minister Heather Humphreys that 900 more schools are now taking part in the hot school meals programme, which will benefit more than 150,000 children.

This investment through the Department of Social Protection means hot school meals are being made available to eighteen more primary schools in County Roscommon.

Ms Dolan, Fine Gael Seanad spokesperson on Education, stated “I’ve spoken to principals recently who highlighted the incredible impact of hot school meals for their school and how this has been a major transformation in the day to day lives of school children in Ireland. This landmark investment really shows government’s central focus on children’s wellbeing.

“Now, with this news, more children and families in County Roscommon will have hot school meals available in their school. Parents won’t have the additional morning task of preparing lunches and know that their children will have a good nutritious meal during the day. And it also helps children focus more in school”.

Primary schools not currently availing of funding for hot school meals will now be able to express their interest in participating in the programme from September on.

The Roscommon primary schools that have been included in the recent expansion of the programme are as follows: SN Michil Naofa, SN Cill Ronain, Lismoil NS, Mount Talbot NS, Athleague NS, Brideswell NS, Scoil Mhuire, Camcloon NS, Clooncagh NS, Clonown NS, SN Rath Aradh, St Mary’s Primary, SN O Dubhlain, SN Cluain Na Cille, SN Cnoc An Chrocaire, Ballintleva NS, Roxboro NS, and St Cóman’s Wood Primary School.