Hopkins storms into Seanad

Maura Hopkins was elected to the Seanad with the highest vote achieved by any of Fine Gael’s 38 candidates in last week’s Seanad elections. She was elected on the Administrative Panel.

  Speaking afterwards, she pledged that she would use her new Seanad platform to be a voice in national politics for young people from the west of Ireland.

  Senator Hopkins also said that she would provide “ambitious” and “sincere” representation at Oireachtas level for the 7,000 Roscommon-Galway voters who gave her their No. 1 votes in the recent Dáil election.

  At the count last Thursday, Senator Hopkins received 117 votes and was comfortably elected.

  Outgoing Minister of State Paudie Coffey, who was a Fine Gael candidate on the panel, was some distance back on 46 votes and was not elected.

  Senator Hopkins said: “Ireland is going through a period of political uncertainty.

Political parties need to show leadership. Ireland needs Fine Gael to be stronger and, to achieve more support, Fine Gael needs to be better.

  “As Fine Gael’s new Oireachtas representative in Roscommon-Galway, I will work hard to ensure that Fine Gael is better and stronger. And I will be a voice in national political debate for young people from the west of Ireland.”

  Independent councillor Nigel Dineen narrowly missed winning a seat on the Industrial & Commercial Panel.

  Co. Roscommon will have two representatives in the new Seanad, Fianna Fáil Senator Terry Leyden being the other.