‘Historic Towns’ funding for Roscommon

The Heritage Council, along with the new Minister of State for Heritage and Electoral Reform, Malcolm Noonan TD, has announced that six historic towns will share €1m funding under the Historic Towns Initiative 2020.

The €1m in capital funding will help to provide jobs and economic stimulus through heritage-led regeneration and will aid the rebuilding of local economies with heritage as a focal point.

The Historic Towns Initiative is a joint initiative between the Department and the Heritage Council and this year’s scheme follows on from highly successful programmes in both 2018 and 2019. The towns receiving funding in 2020 are: Tralee, Co. Kerry; Ramelton, Co. Donegal; Ballina, Co. Mayo; Roscommon, Co. Roscommon; Sligo, Co. Sligo; Clones, Co. Monaghan.

The six towns were selected following a competitive process inviting local authorities to propose projects for heritage-led regeneration in one historic town in their area, with the selection process completed in February 2020, but delayed in line with public health restrictions.