Heartbreak for Roscommon CBS hurlers as brave bid just falls short

Masita All-Ireland Post-Primary Hurling ‘C’ Final Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal, Blarney (Cork) 0-17 Roscommon CBS 2-9

There was All-Ireland final heartbreak for the CBS hurlers in Templemore on Wednesday as they were defeated by the impressive Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal from Blarney, Cork by two points.

  The Roscommon side travelled in style and numbers as they set off for the Co. Tipperary venue in the Club Rossie bus early yesterday morning.

  It was the perfect day for hurling, and CBS started brilliantly with an early goal from James Walker as they led 1-2 to 0-2 after ten minutes. The Blarney side came back into it however with a string of unanswered points to give them a half-time lead on a scoreline of 0-9 to 1-4.

  Both sides provided an exhibition of point-scoring in the second half with impressive efforts from Eoghan Coyle and John Murray leading the way for CBS.

  James Walker grabbed his third goal in two games late on as CBS played some heroic hurling. From then on, however, Scoil Gan Smal began to pull away despite the gallant scoring efforts of John Murray from placed ball.

  The Roscommon students continued to fight bravely right to the very end but despite having a man advantage, due to Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal having a player sent off, it just wasn’t enough as the Blarney side held on to be crowned All-Ireland champions.

Roscommon CBS: L. Murray; J. Mulry, C. Coyle, O. Lyons; R. Kilcline, M. Feeley, E. Grady; T. Doyle, J. Fetherstone; E. Coyle (0-2), K. Whyte (0-1), J. Walker (2-0); A. Whyte, J. Murray (0-6, 6 frees), C. Shanagher. Subs used: K. Walsh, B. McGahon.