Golf News 31st July

Boyle Golf Club

Thursday night’s Mens Competition was won by Pat Conroy with 28 points. 2nd was Lorcan Egan with 27 points and 3rd Michael Gilmartin with 27 points.

  Friday’s Scramble was won by Marie Gallagher, Liam Whyte and John McGuinn; 2nd were Carmel Keenan, Lionel Lynn and Charlie O’Donnell; 3rd were Pat Conroy, Michael Simon and Seamus Gallagher.

  Saturday’s Arts Festival Open was won by John McGuinn (40 points) – 2nd was Paddy McLoughlin (40 points), Gross winner was Owen Garvin and 3rd was Michael Simon (39 points).

  Next Sunday is the Captain’s Prize and the club sends best wishes to Captain Michael Rush for a great weekend.

  Other competitions this week are a Par 3 competition on Thursday, Captain’s Scramble on Friday – draw at 6.30 and a 9-hole re-entry on bank holiday Monday. Please note the course will be closed from 6 pm on Saturday to prepare for Sunday.

  In King Harmon news good luck to all the quarter-finalists. The full line-up is Seamus Gallagher v Shane O’Dowd, Charlie O’Donnell v Niall Kearney, Lionel Lynn v Patrick Egan and Willie Tiernan v Brendan Gaffney.

  Presentation of July prizes and club draw takes place on Thursday evening after the Par 3 Competition.


Carrick-on-Shannon Golf Club

Carrick Open Week will run from August 16th to August 21st. Ladies, Gents and Mixed competitions throughout the week. More details next week. To book, call Chris on 071-9667015.

  Best wishes to Captain Eamonn McGirl as he hosts a series of events throughout the week. Over the weekend Ladies and Gents will play for their coveted Captain’s Prizes. Presentation of Captain’s Prizes on Sunday evening at 9.30 followed by entertainment.

  Having come 3rd in the PGA Tankard, and 2nd in President’s prize to Ladies, Mary King has her first win of the season with 32 points. Oonagh Talbot (30 points) followed in second place. Gross went to Siobhan Talbot with Phil McWeeney in third (29 points).

  Anna Smith shows no fear when it comes to stroke competitions. She chalked up her second win of the season with a very respectable net of 67 (in May Anna also won The Bush Hotel Stroke).


Roscommon Golf Club

Members were delighted that the club draw and classic were a great success and generated vital revenue to maintain the standard of the course, clubhouse and grounds.

  On Saturday night the mood in the clubhouse for the presentation to the winners of the classic and for the draw reflected the ‘job well done’ atmosphere.

  Captain Ken Kearney thanked all the people who had supported the draw and played in the classic. He expressed, on behalf of all the members, his appreciation of the local businesses who once again had come up with generous sponsorship. He thanked the committee who had organised the events and singled out Michael McHale for the exceptional dedication he had shown in driving this fund-raising event that would benefit every member of the club.

  Michael himself added his own words of appreciation to all the people who had supported him in this successful undertaking and was especially grateful to the local businesses for their sponsorship.

  The winning team in the classic was Barry Garvin, John Paul O’Gara, Aaron Fullard and Tom Beirne with 97 points. In second place, with 97 points also, were F. McGuinness, M. McGuinness, G. Ryan and P. Casey from Castlerea. We greatly appreciate the support for the classic and draw of friends of the club who are not members and it was nice to see our friends from Castlerea getting one of the top prizes. In third place were Dan O’Brien, Phelim Henry, Peter Brady and Bob McCormack. In all, twelve teams collected prizes.

  The winners in the club draw, which took place on Saturday night were Rosaleen Penny, Tommy Regan, Ian Gannon and Gary Carr. June Halliday won the ladies’ Tuesday competition, sponsored by John Finn Electrical, with 34 points. In second place was Kay Ruane with 33 points. Willie Weldon won the Over 55’s competition on Thursday. Charlie McDonnell was in second place and Jackie Kilroy was in third place.

  Margaret Egan won the ladies’ competition and Joan Moran was in second place. Mary Pender was in third place and Angela Hewitt was in fourth place. The draw for both the men’s President’s and Captain’s Prizes will take place this Thursday night so there is still time to get names on the entry sheets.

  Good luck to our Ladies’ Meile Fourball team who take on Portumna in the Regional semi-final on this Friday.

  Members were saddened by the death of Peter Kirwan, a long-time member of the club, a true gentleman who was highly regarded by all who knew him.