Golf news

Roscommon Golf Club  The results of the 18 hole Stroke Competition for Monday 6th August Centenary Cup sponsored by the Neilan Family: 1st S. Byrne (65), 2nd F. Pipe (68), 3rd D. Fallon (68), Gross: B. Feely (75).             The results of the 18 hole Stroke Competition for Sunday 12th August sponsored by Dermot Hughes Car Sales: 1st D. O’Brien (67), 2nd A. O’Connor (68), 3rd M. McHale (68), Gross M. Costello (73). Captain’s Prize (Mr. Denis O’Brien) takes place on Sunday 19th August. Draw will take place on Thursday 16th. Connacht Shield team play in second round in Loughrea on Monday, 13th. Draw for the Club Championship will be posted on Men’s notice board on Sunday 12th. Open week starts on Sunday 26th August. Entry sheets in Clubhouse. Now accepting bookings for societies. Contact S. Corcoran on (087) 2220576.             The first day of the Lady Captain’s prize (Joan O’Gara) got off to a great start with over 80 names on the time sheet plus a good turnout in the Junior competition. Although the weather was beautiful the course was playing very tough because of all the bad weather. Nevertheless some fine scores were returned with Detta Cox having the leading score of 70 Net on the day. The top 18 scorers, which were all between 70 and 77 net teed off last at allocated times on the second day of the competition on Saturday. However, the weather conditions on the second day were very wet but some fine scores were returned. The results are as follows with the overall scores: 1st Sinead Benedetti 144 net (last 18), 2nd Ruth Lennon 144 Net (last 18), Gross Paula Quinn 160, 3rd Marguerite Farrell 144 net, 4th Sheila Fallon 145 net, 5th Detta Cox 147 net and 6th Marina Dolan 148 net. The first 18 net was won by June Halliday 72 and the second 18 net was won by Paula Connaughton 73. The first 18 Gross was won by Ailbhe Farrell 79 and the second 18 Gross by Paula Miley 84.             The Junior 36 Hole competition was won by Julie O’Gara with 142 net and the nine hole junior competition was won by Shauna Mulry. The beginners’ competition was won by Yvonne Waldron and the Visitors by Anne O’Gara.             The result of Centenary Cup competition sponsored by The Neilan Family on Bank Holiday Monday is: 1st June Halliday 72 Net, 2nd Mary O’Keeffe 73 Net, Gross Ailbhe Farrell, 3rd Sandra Kelly 74 net.             Good luck to the Intermediate Cup team who play Mountbellew and the Junior Cup team who play Westport in the AA Insurance Ladies Golf Championships Finals in Portumna on the Friday the 17th August.   Boyle Golf Club There was a large turnout last Sunday for the Barty Moran Memorial Trophy which Michael Keville won with a great score of 60. Owen Garvin came second with 63, Terry Bright won the Gross and Martin Murphy came third with 64. At the presentation Vice Captain Charlie O’Donnell welcomed the Moran Family and thanked everyone for taking part. Rosaleen Moran in reply thanked the Club and congratulated all the winners. She finished by saying the family were very proud and delighted to be associated with the award. Michael Keville the winner said it was an honour to receive the trophy in memory of Barty who had been held in such high esteem by the Club and the Town.             Thursday night’s competition was won by Terry Canning (27 C/B), second Michael Reid (27), third Martin Murphy (26). Next Sunday’s competition will be a three ball rumble. Thursday night Men’s competition as usual. Friday night is Scramble night. Lady President’s Day is coming up on Sunday August 26th with an 18 Hole Stableford Competition for the Men.   Ballinasloe Golf Club Saturday and Sunday 11th and 12th Aug, 18 Hole Singles Stroke. Sponsor: Cunningham Golf. 1st Sean Moore (11) 67 Nett, 2nd Cuan MacAogain (13) 68 Nett (B9), Gross Paul Whelehan (6) 74, 3rd Michael Shine (18) 68 Nett, Junior Joseph O’Brien (10) 71 Nett. CSS 72.             Upcoming competitions: Friday 17th Aug, Ballinasloe Lions Club Charity Day, 3 Ball Scramble, Entry €60/team. Timesheet (090) 96 42126.             Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th, 18 Hole Singles Stableford Sponsored by Pat Cafferky. Ladies: Tue 31st July, 18 Hole Stableford. Sponsored by Duane’s Pharmacy. 1st Peggy Wong 36 pts, Category A: Margaret Killeen 31 pts, Category B: Eileen Kelly 33 pts, Category C: Ann Murphy 31 pts. Voucher 28 Celine Grennan 33 pts, Voucher 29 Rita Spellman 38 pts, Voucher 30 Rita Spellman 39 pts.             Tue 7th August, 18 Hole V Par. Sponsored by Society Travel & Diva Women. 1st Margaret Corry 2 down, Category A: Kitty McHugh 4 down, Category B: Eileen Kelly 2 down, Category C: Catherine Shine 3 down.             Seniors Results 1st August 2007: 1st JF Slattery 38 pts, 2nd Myles McHugh 36 pts, 3rd Willie O’Rourke 36 pts, 4th John Dowd 35 pts. 8th August 2007: 1st J. Molloy 40 pts, 2nd Joe Burke 38 pts, 3rd Jackie Gilchrist 37 pts, 4th Des Madden 36 pts.