Golf News

Roscommon Golf Club  The results of the 18-hole singles competition for Sunday last (sponsored by Permanent TSB) were: 1 st – R. Browne (38 points); 2 nd – T. McManus (36 points); 3 rd – K. Kenny (35 points) and Gross – M. Connaughton (28 points).    Roscommon Golf Club’s defribrillator Day was a major success with an excellent turnout on the day.    Over 140 people contributed towards the day & a substantial amount of money was raised.   It is hoped to complete the purchase of the defibrillator & training for its operators in the near future & to have the equipment available for use soon after.   The winners on the day were: Mens, Michael Keane 42pts . Ladies: Mary Seymour 42 pts . Presentation of Prizes will take place on Sunday 4th November.   Roscommon Golf Club would like to sincerely thank all those who took part on the day & contributed so generously to an excellent cause. Boyle Golf Club The final round of the Winter League took place last Sunday with a prize-giving presentation on Sunday evening. The winning team was Patrick Egan, Michael Reid and Joyce Boles with a score of 170 receiving new Golf Gear. Second place went to John Tiernan, Michael Gilmartin and Gerry Egan with a score of 175 receiving new Bags, and third place went to Owen Garvin, Michael Simon and Eddie Conroy with a score of 174 receiving a Glass Set.   The prizes for the best score on each Sunday were won by Eamon Perry, Vincent Egan and Paddy McLoughlin on the first Sunday, Liam Whyte, Benny Morgan and Joey Mullaney on the second Sunday and Rodney Boles, Stephen Bohan and Gloria Hogan on the third Sunday. The prizes were presented jointly by Captains Rodney Boles and Mandy Toolan.   At the presentation Gary Carty was presented with the King Cup, Rodney Boles won second place, Pat Gannon won the Gross and Vincent Egan came third and Gerard Sheerin was presented with the King Harmon Trophy with Peter Cleary coming second.     The final presentation was to Gary Carty on winning the Order of Merit/Golfer of the Year. The award was sponsored by Michael Keville who was thanked by the members.   Next Sunday sees the start of the Christmas Turkey Competition with an 18 Hole Stableford.   The Club AGM takes place on Sunday 18th November with Mens and Ladies Meetings at 4.30 and the General Meeting at 5.30.  All members are invited to attend.  Ballinasloe Golf Club Mens Club: Sat 27 th & Sun 28 th October, 18 Hole S’ford Sponsor: Bruen Bros Insurances. 1 st Tony Dolphin 38pts, 2 nd John V. Coughlan 38pts, Gross Joe Kelly 32pts, 3 rd Peter Hill 38pts.  Upcoming competitions: Sat 3 rd & Sun 4 th Nov. 18 Hole Singles S’ford Sponsor: Michael Clogher.   Ladies Club: Creighton Cup Winner: Anne Staunton; Runner-Up: Lil Shine; Ladies Four Ball Better Ball Winners: Teresa McGann & Aine Lyons; Runners Up: Rita Spellman & Margaret Creaven; September Pendant: Peig Burke; Bronze Medal: Ann Murphy; Silver Medal: Peig Burke; Silver Spoon: Joesphine Murray; Golfer of the Year: Peig Burke; Most Improved Golfer: Mary Madden; Ring Competition: 1 st Teresa McGann, 2 nd Maureen Dolphin, 1 st Gross Rita Spellman, 2 nd Gross Regina Power.