Glavey’s round off the year in style

King and Moffatt Tansey Cup (League Division 3)
Michael Glavey’s 3-13 Éire Óg

Michael Glavey’s completed a fantastic year for the club when they had an impressive victory against Éire Óg in this local derby played at Enfield last Sunday.

  Glavey’s were in control all the way and despite a brave effort from the Loughglynn men, the game was over as a contest by half-time.

  In fact it was Éire Óg who were the better team in the first ten minutes at the end of which they led by 0-3 to 0-1 with Barry Nolan (2) and Ross Nolan on target. But it was a false dawn for Éire Óg as Glavey’s took over after that.  

  Glavey’s levelled the scores with points from Stephen Comer and Sean Burke, and then a well-taken goal from Tiernan Murphy in the 13th minute saw Glavey’s forge ahead and they never looked back after that. A minute later Sean Burke crashed home a second goal and with further points from the impressive Andrew Glennon, Tiernan Murphy and a Darren O’Malley ’45 left the intermediate champions nine points ahead at half-time.

  The game was certainly over in the 37th minute when Luke McDermott scored Glavey’s third goal. Éire Óg never gave up the ghost though and they were rewarded ten minutes from time when their best player Barry Nolan fisted home a goal, but Glavey’s were home and dry at that stage.

  Best for Glavey’s were Andrew Glennon, Gary Patterson (until black-carded), Darren O’Malley, Sean Burke and Stephen Comer. Barry Nolan had a tremendous game for Éire Óg and others to play well for them included Colm Lavin, Paul Freeman and Ross Nolan.

Michael Glavey’s: R Mannion; N Morris, S O’Malley, D Frayne; J Brennan, D O’Malley (0-1), G Patterson; C Hussey (0-1), C Fitzmaurice; L McDermott (1-0), S Comer (0-2), Seamus Burke (0-1); Sean Burke (1-1), A Glennon (0-5), S Fagan. Subs: T Murphy (1-1) for Fagan, C Ruane (0-1) for Patterson, S Markham for McDermott, G Cunningham for Markham.

Éire Óg: Colm Lavin; Ciaran Lavin, T Greene, J Carty; K Johnson, D Barron, J Horan; S Jordan, P Freeman; L Creaton, L Keenan, R Nolan (0-2); B Nolan (1-5), V Hannelly, F Nolan. Subs: M O’Brien for F Nolan, A McLoughlin for Johnson, E Flanagan for O’Brien, C Creaton for Horan.

Referee: Declan Hunt.