Funding to tackle ecoli and cryptosporidium

Over €138 million was allocated for water services in County Roscommon in an allocation announced this week. The investment programme also includes a special package to target supplies at risk from cryptosporidium and ecoli, as well as new measures aimed at improving water conservation.   €28 million is allocated for town and village sewerage schemes, which includes Strokestown, Elphin, Brideswell, Ballinlough, Knockcroghery, Lisacul, Loughglynn, Frenchpark, Arigna, Cootehall, Castleplunkett, Ballyleague and environs, Tulsk, Creagh, Curraghboy and Hodson Bay. Schemes to start in 2008 include €16 million for the North East Roscommon Water Supply Scheme and €2.68 million for Roscommon Sludge Management. Schemes listed to start in 2009 are as follows: Arigna, Boyle/Ardcarne (stage 2), Roscommon Central and South Roscommon Regional Water Supply Scheme. €54 million has been allocated for this scheme.  €4.206 million has been allocated for an upgrade of Roscommon sewerage scheme and €15.773 million has been allocated for West Roscommon Regional Water Supply Scheme, which includes North Roscommon, Castlerea and Ballinlough. €1.237 million has been allocated under the Serviced Land Initiative for the Lanesboro Road Sewerage Scheme in Roscommon Town. €15 million has been allocated for the Monksland Sewerage Scheme (stage 2 upgrade).   Deputy Michael Finneran welcomed the news.