From the Sports Archives



Maughan opts for youth


Seamus Duke


The Roscommon senior football team management are giving youth its fling as the 2008 Allianz National Football League begins on Sunday with a very tough away assignment against Monaghan in Clones (throw-in at 2.30 pm).

Four players will be making their competitive debuts on a very young Roscommon team that will also see the inclusion of four players who featured on the Roscommon minor team that won the All-Ireland title in 2006.

Making their competitive debuts on Sunday are goalkeeper Mark Miley (St. Dominic’s), centre half-back David Flynn (Clann na nGael) and corner-forwards Conor Devaney (Kilbride) and Senan Kilbride (St. Brigid’s).

Paddy O’Connor (Elphin) has recovered from a recent injury and takes his place at corner-back. Mark O’Carroll (St. Brigid’s) will partner Seamus O’Neill (Kilbride) at midfield while Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels), Ger Heneghan (Castlerea) and Karol Mannion (St. Brigid’s) make up what is a very strong looking half-forward line. Enda Kenny (Castlerea) will be hoping to continue his good form (for his college Sligo IT) at full-forward.

Either injured or away and not considered were: Frankie Dolan, Jonathan Dunning, David Keenan, John Tiernan, Seanie McDermott, Gary Cox, David Hoey, Donie Shine and John Nolan.


(From 1 February 2008)


First half blitz

seals it for Creggs


Creggs 25 Ballyhaunis 10

Creggs kept up their promotion push with an excellent 25 points to 12 win over Ballyhaunis last Sunday in a game that saw five great tries scored in the first half – four going to the home side. However after the excitement of the first half there was only one score in the second half, a penalty from Noel Flynn.

Creggs started well but they were caught by Ballyhaunis for the first try of the game. However Creggs were not too long responding and a few minutes later they scored an excellent try when Mark Hester ran 40 metres to score. The conversion was missed but five minutes later Creggs were ahead. A fine movement from the Creggs backline saw Emmett Collins score a good individual try. It got even better for Creggs a few minutes later when Bernard Kilcommins took advantage of a poor Ballyhaunis defensive kick to burst through and touch down in the corner for another Creggs try.

The Creggs pack were doing well and the bonus point was secured when Conor Brandon got over for another try under the posts to give Creggs a 22-7 lead after Emmett Collins converted. However just before half-time Ballyhaunis converted a penalty under the posts to make the score 22-10 at half-time.

The only second-half score was a Noel Flynn penalty to leave Creggs the easy winners and in a good position ahead of a vital game against Gort this Saturday.

Creggs: A Glennon, P Comiskey, P Heavey, P Turley, K O’Rourke, K Brandon, M Hester, T Fleming, G Brennan, N Flynn, M Fleming, C Brandon, J Hughes, B Kilcommins, E Collins. Sub used: P McNeill.

(From 29 February 2008)




Rossies lose their way and their unbeaten record in a derby thriller
Allianz National Football League Division 3: Longford 0-16 Roscommon 2-8

A storming second-half display from the home side saw them edge ahead of Roscommon in this very entertaining local derby played in fine but bitterly cold weather at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park last Sunday. Longford kicked seven points without reply in a 16-minute period in the second half and that saw them establish a two-point lead that they did not relinquish.

It was a big disappointment for Des Newton’s Roscommon team who made a super start with two early goals but then fell away and who ultimately could have few complaints at the final whistle.

Despite the fact that Longford just about deserved to win, the performance of the referee Stephen McNamee left a lot to be desired and Roscommon players, management and fans alike were left frustrated and perplexed at a number of vital decisions that went against them, particularly in the second half.

It was a thrilling and very well contested game of football for the most part. Roscommon looked really dangerous going forward in the first half and Conor Devanney and Cathal Cregg were in fantastic form. Devanney terrorised the Longford defence in that first half and was involved in almost every positive Roscommon move.

(From 9 March 2012)


From Seamus Duke’s column:  Serious impact of emigration on GAA

This week a member of a local GAA club contacted this newspaper to outline his extreme frustration at the level of emigration of players that is taking place in his own club area and among GAA clubs in the county in general.

I am aware of at least two dozen going-away parties for young men in my own area this year alone, as young people queue up to leave the country. The problem will not manifest itself fully until Junior A and B championships are being played later in the year. I know for a fact that there are several clubs that will not be able to field junior teams this year.

(From 6 April 2012)



Hurlers finding form – but manager wants more
Nicky Rackard Cup 2nd Round: Roscommon 1-24 Monaghan 0-17

Despite scoring 1-24 and easily accounting for ‘bogey team’ Monaghan, Roscommon hurling manager Justin Campbell has demanded greater improvement from his team as they set their sights firmly on Nicky Rackard Cup success.

Roscommon produced their best display of the year so far as they qualified for the Nicky Rackard Cup semi-finals with this comfortable win against Monaghan in Athleague on Saturday. The platform for this win was built after an excellent first-half display during which Roscommon scored 0-16, 0-14 coming from play.

Roscommon were always comfortable and, having been beaten by Monaghan in the league for the past two seasons, this was a sweet win for Justin Campbell’s men. Campbell was happy enough with the display, but he was in no mood for any future complacency.

Roscommon: Noel Fallon; Ian Delaney, Peter Kellehan, Liam Kilcline; Declan Leonard, Micheal Kelly (0-1), Thomas Seale (0-1); Cathal Dolan (0-2), Cathal Kelly (0-1); John Moran (0-3), Ronan O’Meara (0-1), Jerry Fallon (0-7, 2 frees,1 ’65); Cillian Egan (1-3), Gary Fallon (0-1), Adrian Murphy (0-1). Subs: Cathal Kenny for C Kelly (31), John Coyne (0-2) for G Fallon (43), Cathal Kelly (0-1) for Murphy, Naos Connaughton for O’Meara (62), Hugh Rooney for C Dolan (67).

(From 15 May 2015)