Four Roads fight back to force replay

Kepak Roscommon SHC Semi-Final: Padraig Pearses 1-14 Four Roads 2-11

What does it take to knock Four Roads out of the Roscommon SHC? Going into injury-time in Athleague last Saturday evening, old rivals and neighbours Pádraig Pearses thought that they had finally slain the giant when they led by four points but in typical fashion the eight in a row champions rescued a seemingly impossible situation.

  A David Dolan point reduced the margin to three, and then deep into injury-time Dolan’s ’65 was delivered into the danger area and there was Shane Curley to get the vital flick to direct the ball to the Pearses net. Four Roads had survived again and who will back against them in the replay?

  Pearses looked the better side in a poor first half and Tomas Sweeney’s goal in the 22nd minute gave them the initiative. Then Alan Sweeney was red carded for Pearses but they still were leading by five points at half-time.

  In the third quarter it looked like Pearses were coping well with Four Roads who were not playing well. But Johnny Coyne scored a vital goal to get the champions back into the game with 13 minutes left. But Pearses were undaunted and points from Tomas Seale and Adam Finnerty saw the lead back out to five.

  When Shane Naughton scored a Pearses point in the 48th minute it was to be their last score.

  The rest, as they say, is history as Four Roads came back from the dead to keep their nine in a row hopes alive. The replay will be held in Athleague on Sunday, October 2nd with Oran awaiting the winners in the final.

Padraig Pearses: P Dolan; D Dolan, P Dolan, A Naughton; E Cogavin, C Kelly (0-5), M Donoghue; S Naughton (0-1), G Downey; T Seale (0-1), A Sweeney, A Finnerty (0-2); D Sweeney, (0-1), Alan Sweeney, T Sweeney (1-4). Sub: S Glynn for D Sweeney (46).

Four Roads: D Dowd; C Dowd, M McLaughlin, J Rogerson; S Curley (1-2), C Dolan, J Fitzmaurice; M Kelly (0-1), C Mulry (0-2); D Dolan (0-5), J Donnelly, C Coyle; A Lawlor, J Coyne (1-1), E Rogerson. Subs: M Donoghue for Coyle (h/t), J Moran for Donnelly (38), B Lawlor for a Lawlor (38), N Fallon for Fitzmaurice (53), J Lawlor for E Rogerson (53).

Referee: J Judge.