Flashback to 1975, when Sligo last conquered Connacht

  Indeed the last time Sligo did win the Connacht Senior Football title was in 1975 –  ended a 47-year wait as they had not previously added to their very first title gained in 1928. However – on the 25 th of  July, 1975 they rolled back the years before 20,000 spectators at McHale Park, Castlebar when they held on to secure a one-point victory against Mayo in a replay after the teams could not be separated two weeks previously.   In that particular game both teams cancelled each other out and produced a pulsating final 15 minutes where either team could and possibly should have won it.   Mayo led at half-time in the replay but goals from Mickey and Dessie Kearins at crucial stages in the second half paved the way for this richly-deserved and overdue win for Sligo.   Countless times in the past Sligo had suffered heartbreak at the hands of Galway and Mayo but they were not to be denied on this occasion as they bridged a 47-year gap to cap a historic day for the Yeats County.   For Sligo, centre-back Barnes Murphy gave an outstanding display while full-forward Mickey Kearins also contributed handsomely to the victory. John Brennan, Bobby Lipsett and Mattie Brennan performed well in defence. Colleary and Stenson were supreme at midfield while in attack Mattie Hoey, Frank Henry and the Kearins’ impressed immensely.   Sligo: T. Cummins; B. Lipsett, J. Brennan, T. Carron; M. Brennan, B. Murphy, P. Henry; J. Stenson (0-1), T. Colleary; M. Laffey, M. Hoey (0-4), F. Henry; D. Kearins (1-1), M. Kearins (1-4), J. Kearins. Substitution: B. Wilkinson for M. Laffey.   Only time will tell if Tommy Brehony and his team emulate their Sligo heroes of 1975 and recapture the Nestor Cup for the third time in their history.