Fallon fires hurlers into Division Three Final

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A Roscommon 1-21 Warwickshire 3-12Roscommon hurlers had to dig deep to continue on their unbeaten run in this exciting game played at Pairc na hEireann in Warwickshire, England on Saturday last.

  The first half was a tame affair with both teams trading points. The best Roscommon move of the first half came on twenty minutes when Liam Kilcline gave a great pass to put Naos Connaughton through on goal. Connaughton was pulled to the ground, which resulted in a penalty. Jerry Fallon stepped up but the Warwickshire goalie pulled off a great save. Shortly afterwards the Warwickshire full-forward Pauric Crehan found the Roscommon net. The sides went in at half-time with Warwickshire leading by 1-9 to Roscommon’s 0-8.

  The Rossies were much better in the second half and were on level terms after twelve minutes, on 0-13 to 1-10. Then the Warwickshire attackers Pauric Crehan and Ollie Long found the Roscommon net with two goals in two minutes to leave Roscommon trailing by 0-13 to 3-10. This looked like the end of the Roscommon challenge. But the Rossies dug deep and their fitness and determination showed with a great fightback in the last twenty minutes.

   A point from Cillian Egan and a great goal from Eamon Flanagan started the comeback. Then came four points from Jerry Fallon, three frees and a ’65. Cillian Egan got two further points and a point from Michael Kelly completed the revival, with Roscommon outscoring the home team by 1-7 to 0-2 in the final twenty minutes.

  This win now assures Roscommon of a place in the National League Division 3A Final ahead of their sole remaining group game, against Tyrone next Sunday. Best for Roscommon were Eamon Flanagan, Alan Moore and Jerry Fallon.

Roscommon: Noel Fallon; Alan Moore, Peter Kellehan, Ciaran Shaw; Shane Curley (0-1), Michael Kelly (0-1), Jason Kilkenny; Tomas Seale, Cathal Dolan; Adrian Murphy (0-1), Eamon Flanagan (1-3), Jerry Fallon (0-12, 8 frees, 2 65s); Liam Kilcline, Naos Connaughton, Cillian Egan (0-3). Subs: Hugh Rooney for Seale, Gearoid Keenan for Murphy, Jamie Lawlor for Connaughton, Warren Boyle for Rooney.