Eugene Cummins is new Chair of Western Development Commission

Former CEO of Roscommon County Council Eugene Cummins is the new Chairperson of the Western Development Commission. Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys confirmed the appointment on Wednesday, while also announcing a new board.

Mr Cummins previously served as Chief Executive for Roscommon and Monaghan County Councils and has been selected for this role following a State Boards appointment process, which is managed by the Public Appointments Service.

Minister Humphreys reappointed five ordinary members to the board – Ms Aisling Meehan, Ms Audrey Crummy, Ms Mary Coyne, Ms Mary McKenna and Ms Sandra Nolan, and five new members – Ms Breda Fox, Mr Micheál Heaney, Mr Patrick Duffy, Mr Eoin Motherway and Mr Niall O’Donnellan. Mr Edmund Jennings also remains a member until his term expires in August 2024.

Making the announcement, Minister Humphreys said: “The Western Development Commission has played an important role in promoting economic and social development in the Western region since it was established in 1999.

“Over the past three years in particular, the WDC has established itself as an important contributor to the development of the region, supporting the objectives of Project Ireland 2040 to make Ireland a better country for all.

“The WDC has also made important contributions to the development of policy at national level in areas such as remote working, climate change and rural development.

“I am delighted to welcome Mr Eugene Cummins, a former Chief Executive of both Roscommon and Monaghan County Councils, to take up the position of Chair of the Board, and I wish him well in that role”.

Minister Humphreys added: “I want to also thank previous Board members, including Mr Gerry Finn, the Chair of the Board for the last three years, for their work in supporting the development of the Western region and their careful stewardship of the WDC over the last three years”.