€200,000 for Roscommon Town under Heritage Revival Scheme

Carrick-on-Shannon and Ballinasloe also benefit

Roscommon Town has been awarded €200,000 under the Town Centre First Heritage Revival Scheme (THRIVE), a grant which is co-funded by the EU and Roscommon County Council, through Government.

The initiative aims to “rejuvenate and revitalise” town centres by renovating and reusing “publicly owned vacant or derelict heritage buildings”.

The funding is part of the ERDF Northern and Western Regional Programme 2021-2027 and is intended to help local authorities and citizens reimagine their urban spaces from a heritage and cultural perspective.

Roscommon County Council will use the €200,000 grant to develop a plan for an Integrated Urban Strategy, engage with citizens, and identify heritage buildings in Roscommon Town for future renovation or development.

Additional capital funding is planned for 2025 for the renovation and adaptive reuse of heritage buildings in public ownership that is identified through the initial study. Protecting and enhancing Roscommon Town’s built heritage is expected to contribute significantly to the town’s “cultural fabric”.

The project will involve assessing and conducting feasibility studies on two publicly owned buildings in the town, Edenville House and Bank House (the former Motor Tax Office). This initiative will provide an opportunity for citizens to engage with their local authority and contribute to consultations determining a sustainable end use for the chosen building.

Minister of State for Local Government and Planning, Alan Dillon TD was delighted to announce the funding: “Our towns and villages are the beating heart of rural Ireland. The Town Centre First Initiative is revitalising our communities across the country. This initial tranche of funding under THRIVE will facilitate the development and enhancement of integrated urban strategies using a Town Centre First approach and will assist local authorities in identifying suitable projects and ensuring they are ready to commence capital works”.

Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage, Darragh O’Brien TD, also commented: “This Government has placed a huge emphasis on the regeneration and rejuvenation of towns all across the country”.

Local authorities receiving this funding will promote the values and principles of the New European Bauhaus initiative, ensuring that their projects are sustainable, aesthetically pleasing, inclusive, and accessible.

THRIVE Strand One Funding was awarded for several local town centres including €131,501 for Ballinasloe, €130,540 for Carrick-on-Shannon, and €200,000 for Roscommon Town.

The funding announcements were welcomed by local senators Eugene Murphy of Fianna Fáil and Aisling Dolan of Fine Gael.