Dominic’s dominate Scór deciders

Last Sunday, the Dean Crowe Theatre played host to the Roscommon GAA Scór na nÓg Championship Finals and a large audience was treated to an afternoon of top class entertainment provided by young GAA members from clubs all over the county.

  The competitions were keenly contested throughout the varied programme and a wonderful atmosphere of celebration and rivalry ensued as the destination of county titles was decided.

  In the Rince Foirne, St. Dominic’s A team prevailed despite the gallant efforts of St. Aidan’s, St. Dominic’s B and St. Croan’s.

  St. Aidan’s Katie Heneghan proved a very popular winner in the Recitation. Her extract from Angela’s Ashes saw off the challenge of Muireann O’Brien from St. Croan’s, Eoin Halpin of St. Barry’s and Patrick Mulloolly of St. Dominic’s.

  Next up was the Set Dancing, where St. Dominic’s A, Elphin, Kilmore and St. Dominic’s B battered the floor with great abandon and in the end the Knockcroghery girls, St. Dominic’s A, emerged as winners.

  Another highlight of the night was the Léiriú Stáitse competition. All groups turned in excellent performances with stories based on various comical themes. St. Dominic’s B team were awarded the coveted county crown defeating Tulsk and St. Dominic’s B.

  Elphin enjoyed a comprehensive win in the Tráth na gCeisteanna competition beating St. Dominic’s A, Boyle and St. Dominic’s B.

  They will now go straight to the All-Ireland Final Tráth na gCeisteanna Boird at the end of January. The Solo Singing discipline saw Kilbride’s Aoife McLaughlin retain the title she won last year with her rendition of “The Winding River Roe” and in doing so she overcame Sarah Keane from Elphin, Laura Mannion of St. Aidan’s and Strokestown’s Claire Brogan.

  The Ceol Uirlise proved a very entertaining affair with all groups turning in lively performances. Kilbride A emerged victorious here at the expense of St. Michael’s, Kilbride B and St. Croan’s.

  The last item of the afternoon, in the reshuffled running order, was the Ballad Group competition and St. Dominic’s A, Kilbride and St. Aidan’s all gave fantastic performances but it was St. Dominic’s B that grabbed the accolade.

  The winners received their trophies from Roscommon GAA Chairperson Michael Fahey.

  The newly crowned county champions will now go forward to represent their clubs and Roscommon in the Connacht Finals, which will be held in the Town Hall, Claremorris on Saturday, December 12th.      

  Coiste Scór would like to thank the Dean Crowe Theatre and all of the venues that hosted rounds of the competitions.

  We would especially like to thank all of the clubs, competitors and officials for their efforts over this year’s competition and we wish our winners all of the best of luck and we hope more Roscommon clubs can qualify for the National Finals.