Dog-fight for last Seat in prospect

Both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are claiming they will take the all-important third seat in Roscommon/South Leitrim in the general election on Thursday.    It is accepted by all observers that the two main political parties will take at least one seat each and that a number of candidates will vie for the third seat.    Nine candidates will contest the election locally: Hugh Baxter, John Ellis, Frank Feighan, Michael Finneran, John Kelly, Martin Kenny, Garreth McDaid, Denis Naughten and Noel O’Gara    Approximately 60,800 people are entitled to vote in Roscommon-South Leitrim tomorrow. Counting will begin in the Dr. Hyde Centre, Roscommon at 9 a.m. on Friday morning. Voting hours on Thursday are 7.30 a.m. to 10.30 pm.    See pages 18-23.