Curtain falls on superb Roscommon Drama Festival

The curtains were drawn on a very successful Roscommon Drama Festival on Saturday night last. On that occasion, the various winners were announced and presentation of awards was held.

It followed eight wonderful nights of entertainment in both the open and confined sections.

The chairperson of the committee, Mary Finn, described the festival as “a tremendous success” noting there had been “full houses on all nights”.

The festival, which continues to grow in strength from year to year, had welcomed the cream of Irish Amateur Drama Groups from all over Ireland.

Ms. Finn thanked all who contributed to the overall success of the event.

“I would like to thank Geoff O’Keeffe who honoured us by opening our festival and giving us a wonderful start with his lyrical opening.

“Thanks to all the groups who participated in the festival and entertained us with such high quality productions”.

Ms. Finn also thanked the festival sponsors, as well as Roscommon County Council and the Arts Council, and the establishments that hosted nightly festival clubs.

She also thanked the staff of Roscommon Arts Centre, the local media for extensive coverage of the festival, and all the members of the Festival Committee for the enthusiastic, pleasant and efficient way they had undertaken the various tasks required. Finally, she thanked the audiences for their support of all the performing groups.

Mary then introduced the adjudicator, Anna Walker.

“Nobody can question the expertise, the attention to detail, and the fairness with which you arrived at your conclusions”.

In her reply, Ms. Walker complimented the committee and said that she had had a most enjoyable time at the festival.

Results of 2023 Roscommon Drama Festival

The Vincent Mahon Memorial Award: DLI Summer School Scholarship: Kate Devereux (Kilmuckridge Drama Group)

Pat Connaughton Memorial Award: A Magical Moment of Theatre: Anna Kilcoyne (Dalkey Players)

Adjudicator’s Award: Ray Leonard Players for their ground-breaking association with Claremorris Men’s Shed

Best Technical Award: The Welkin (Ballyduff Drama Group)

Best Stage Setting: The Welkin (Ballyduff Drama Group)

Best Supporting Actress Confined: Margo Whelan as Mena Glavin (Kilmuckridge Drama Group)

Best Supporting Actor Confined: Tim Oates as Git in The Kings of the Kilburn High Road (The Ray Leonard Players)

Best Actress Confined: Anna Flaherty as Catherine in Proof (Glenamaddy Players)

Best Actor Confined: John Hearne as Mike Glavin in Sive (Kilmuckridge Drama Group)

Best Supporting Actress Open: Phil McGrath as Judith in the Welkin (Ballyduff Drama Group)

Best Supporting Actor Open: Colm Linnane as Mick in Stolen Child (Corofin Drama Group)

Best Actress Open: Maura Clancy as Peggy in Stolen Child (Corofin Drama Group)

Best Actor Open: Billy Canning as Maurice in The Night Alive (Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group)

Best Director Confined: Anthony O’Connor, Sive (Kilmuckridge Drama Group)

Best Director Open: Ger Canning, the Welkin (Ballyduff Drama Group)

Main Award Confined

3rd – The Kings of the Kilburn High Road (The Ray Leonard Players)
2nd – Proof (Glenamaddy Players)
1st – Sive (Kilmuckridge Drama Group)

Main Award Open

3rd – Stolen Child (Corofin Drama Group)
2nd – By the Bog of Cats (Dalkey Players)
1st – The Welkin (Ballyduff Drama Group)

The Perpetual Award: The Welkin (Ballyduff Drama Group)