Curtain closes on outstanding Festival









Roscommon Drama Festival 2018 closed on Monday night with Gorey Little Theatre presenting a relatively unknown play Unbroken Circle by James Wesley.

  Afterwards there was tremendous anticipation as the adjudicator, Brendan Murray, delivered the overall results for the nine-night festival. Mr. Murray in his opening remarks stated that the standard of presentations at this year’s festival was the highest he had experienced in his adjudication career. He complimented Caroline Egan and her organising committee, Averyl Dooher and her staff at the Arts Centre and the very perceptive Roscommon audiences for making Roscommon Festival so welcoming to the visiting groups.

  In the Open Section Kilmuckridge Drama Group was the big winner getting first place with The Seafarer by Conor McPherson and scooping best director (Michael Johnston), best actor (Richard Devereux as Richard Harkin) and best supporting actor (Ger Teehan as Ivan Curry). In second place was Corofin Dramatic Society with Big Maggie by John B. Keane and Maura Clancy won best actress for her portrayal of Maggie Polpin. Compántas Lir, from Claregalway, was in third place with The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams.

  In the Confined Section Holycross/Ballycahill Drama Group won first place with Bold Girls by Rona Munro and also scooped best director (Claire Ryan) and best actress (Jacqui Lacey as Cassie). Glenadaddy Players were in second place with The Good Father by Christian O’Reilly. Sillan Players from Shercock, Co. Cavan were in third place with Una Pooka by Michael Harding.  

  While the Phoenix Players from Tubbercurry were not in the first three overall places they left with an armful of awards for their presentation of Buried Child by Sam Shepard. They got the Pat Connaughton Memorial Award for a magical moment in theatre, The Best Technical Award, the best actor (Pat Feeley as Dodge), best supporting actor (Francis Brennan as Tilden) and best supporting actress (Claire McLoughlin as Shelly).

  Canon Eugene McLoughlin, President of the Drama Festival Committee, brought the festival to a close. He made a presentation to Caroline Egan, chairperson of the committee. Mary Finn presented Brendan Murray with a framed tapestry print by local artist Frances Crowe depicting Douglas Hyde and Percy French. Canon McLoughlin expressed the wish that we will all be around for the 2019 Roscommon Drama Festival.