Council coalition agreed between parties and independents

According to reports from a number of councillors, a deal has been reached between all Fine Gael councillors, Fianna Fáil councillors and three independent councillors: Cllr Emer Kelly (Athlone LEA), Cllr Laurence Fallon (Athlone LEA) and Cllr Tom Crosby (Boyle LEA), to form the controlling group on Roscommon County Council for the coming 5 years.

It is understood that Fianna Fáil councillor Paschal Fitzmaurice (Castlerea, Roscommon LEA) will be elected as the new Cathaoirleach (Chairperson) of Roscommon County Council for the coming year when the first AGM is held by the newly elected councillors at 2:30 pm today.

The Cathaoirleach position attracts an additional allowance of €20,000 per annum along with a series of additional official duties.