Civic Reception to honour county’s achievers

Roscommon County Council will honour many of the men and women who have excelled in the worlds of sport and culture when they host a Civic Reception in the Roscommon Arts Centre on Thursday, November 23rd, beginning at 6.30 pm.

Twenty-one representatives will be honoured for excelling in a wide variety of endeavours, bringing honour not alone to themselves but also to their families, communities and the county as a whole.

Cathaoirleach Cllr John Keogh will present a Certificate of Recognition to each of the nominees on the night. Chief Executive of Roscommon County Council Shane Tiernan, and members of the local authority, will also attend on the night.

The full list of nominees are: Rás Tailteann National Cycling winner 2022 Daire Feeley; National Junk Kouture winners 2023/World finalists 2024, Elphin Community College and their students Vanessa Kielty, Martha Nugent and Mary McNulty; National Student Enterprise Programme (SEP) award winners and RCC students Joshua McCormack and Evan McNeill; International U-10 Intermediate Irish Dancing champion, Emily Donnelly (Lecarrow); International Premiership U-11 primary Irish Dancing championship winner, Eva Rose Beattie (Rahara); Senior Handball ‘Wallball Nationals Open’ Champion Fiona Tully (Kilbride); All-Ireland 60 x 30 Ladies Minor Handball champion Carragh Kennedy (St Coman’s Handball Club); US Junior National Handball Champion Rory Carthy (St Coman’s Handball Club); Masters All-Ireland ‘B’ doubles handball winners, Paul Kelly (St Brigid’s Handball Club) and Glen Walsh (St Coman’s Handball Club); All-Ireland Community Games winners 2022, St John’s Knockcroghery U-11 Mixed Chess team (represented by Clodagh Fergus, Keshav Rohila, Charlie Casey, Anna Casey, Joachim Dineen and Jonah Dineen); International Leonardo Da Vinci Arts award winner, Avril Egan (Curraghboy); All-Ireland ‘B’ Minor Camogie champions, Roscommon Minor Camogie squad; All-Ireland U-16 ‘C’ winners, Roscommon camogie team; All-Ireland Junior C Camogie winners, Roscommon Convent of Mercy Junior Camogie team; All-Ireland Post Primary Schools ‘B’ football winners, Roscommon Convent of Mercy Ladies Football team; All-Ireland Schools Golf champions, Roscommon Convent of Mercy Ladies Golf team; All-Ireland Ladies Senior Foursomes champions 2023, Roscommon Ladies Golf Club; SFAI All-Ireland winners, St Joseph’s U-15 soccer team; Connacht Clay Pigeon shooting Interprovincial team champions, Ronan Morris (Roscommon) and Fred Jaeger (Boyle); and Scór na nÓg All-Ireland winners –Gemma Casey (St Dominic’s GAA Club) for Solo Singing and Novelty Act All-Ireland winners, Jane Casey, Euan Hanley, Joe McDermott, Amy Murray, Amy Reynolds, Ben O’Connor, Chloe O’Connor and Hannah O’Connor (St Dominic’s GAA Club).