Champions to the ‘Four’!



Kilbride hold off gutsy Clann in replay


Abbey Hotel Roscommon LGFA Senior Championship Final Replay

Kilbride 1-15

Clann na nGael 1-8 (after extra-time)


The record books will show that Kilbride have notched up four county senior titles in a row which is a considerable achievement, but they were put to the pin of their respective collars by an excellent Clann na nGael side once again in this replay at Ballyforan. But in the manner of all good teams Kilbride figured out a way to win in the end and in extra-time they finally pulled away with a bit to spare.

  There were heroes all over the field on both sides but Kilbride will be thankful to young Aisling Hanly for her contribution. The 15-year-old was only a sub in the drawn game but manager Ollie Lennon started her at full-forward in this replay and it paid dividends as she kicked a total of eight points, five from play.

  Clann were the more composed side early on in the poor conditions and when Kayleigh Dunning scored a fine goal mid-way through they led by six points. At the other end of the field Hanly was always a threat but at half-time Clann were ahead by 1-6 to 0-4.

  Four quick-fire points at the beginning of the second period from Fiona Tully, Tara Taylor and Hanly (2) saw Kilbride back to within one. Then a converted free from Aisling Hanly levelled the scores and despite a couple of half-chances for both sides after that it went to extra-time.

  Kilbride finally took control in extra-time. Four points on the bounce saw the champions storm into the lead, and when Niamh Shanagher scored a fine goal the cup was staying in mid-Roscommon for the winter once again.

  Best for Kilbride were young Hanly, Rochelle Mullaney, Alice Kelly, Yvonne Creighton and Blaithin O’Beirne. For Clann, who will feel that they missed the bus the first day when they had the champions on the ropes, Shauna Bannon, Rosie Lennon and Orla O’Neill were most prominent.


Kilbride: A Gavigan; J Fannon, Y Creighton, A Feely; S Tully, A Kelly (0-1), R Mullaney; C Gormley, N Shanagher (1-0); E Fannon (0-2), T Taylor (0-1), B O’Beirne; S Clabby, A Hanly (0-8), F Tully (0-3).

Clann na nGael: M O’Brien; E Kildea, K Colgan, S Bannon; M Kelly, A Connaughton, K Finlaass; O O’Neill, R Finlass (0-2); S McManus, K Dunning (1-0), C Lennon; R Lennon (0-6), C Quinn, S Farrell. Subs: D Greasley for McManus, T Lennon for C Lennon.

Referee: Aaron Clogher