CBS win sets up final exam!






Connacht College SFC ‘B’ semi-final

Roscommon CBS 1-13

St. Muirdeach’s 1-10

A very special sporting year for Roscommon CBS continued apace at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence on Tuesday night when they had three points to spare against St. Muirdeach’s in what was a thrilling game of football played in damp conditions.

  Both sets of players have to be congratulated on the standard of play throughout. There were some spectacular scores, great tackling and a breakneck pace all through and in the end Roscommon CBS were just that bit stronger.

  The teams shared four points in the opening nine minutes. Sean Treacy and James Tully were on target for the Ballina lads while Jack McGahon (free) and Cian Murray scored for CBS.

 In the 11th minute, Roscommon captain Ciaran Lawless made a mazy run through the centre and planted a great shot into the Muirdeach’s net for the game’s opening goal. Indeed, a minute later the Roscommon side thought they had another goal when Liam Ormsby fisted to the net but it was ruled out because of a ‘square ball’.

  And just when it looked like the CBS were going to dominate, Muirdeach’s struck for a really fine goal when Frank Irwin blasted home from 15 metres. But Roscommon CBS were the better side in the second quarter and Roscommon Gaels’ club man Richard Walsh kicked four superb points from play and by half-time CBS led by 1-8 to 1-4.

   Points from Lawless and Walsh on the restart opened up a six point gap and it was looking good for Roscommon lads at that stage. But they could never shake off a very dogged Muirdeach’s and by the end of the third quarter there were only two points between the teams, 1-11 to 1-9.

   But the CBS re-established control, and late points from Ciaran Lawless and Tim Lambe saw the lead out to four and while Sean Treacy pointed another free with four minutes to go the county town school had sealed their place in the provincial final after a really competitive match.

Roscommon CBS: Gustavo Rodriguez; James Browne, Colin Walsh, John Martin; Cian Murray (0-1), Jack Lohan, Cian Lennon; Albert Looby, Keith Doyle; Richard Walsh (0-5), Ciaran Lawless (1-4, 2 frees), Tim Lambe (0-1); Jack McGahon (0-2, 2 frees), James Fitzpatrick, Liam Ormsby. Subs: Charlie Carty for Doyle (50), Aodha Hession for Glennon (56, black card).

St. Muirdeach’s: R Connolly; M Walsh, J Stutt, D Loftus; O Flynn, C Judge, J Tully (0-1); F Irwin (1-2), D Thornton; N Feeney, C Boyce. P Rutledge; S Treacy (0-5, 5 frees), A McAndrew, P Timlin.


Referee: John Gilmartin (Sligo)