Captain’s prizes for Hellen and Dowling

While Shane Lowry was Offaly unlucky last Sunday (Ed – last chance!), Denis Hellen and Clare Dowling braved the elements in Athlone to scoop John Burns’ captain’s prizes. Denis narrowly won a play-off while Clare hit an impressive 66 nett. Meanwhile, T. Dolan was the most recent AWGS competition winner with 29 points.

  The Athlone G.C. classic will take place over the 1st and 2nd of July. Hopefully there will be a reduction in water hazards by then!

  In Roscommon, the ladies’ gala day was won by G. Kelly with 39 points ahead of C. Moran on 35 points. C. Brennan took the senior men’s competition, while A. McNally grabbed the ladies event.

 Carrick-on-Shannon played host to a stableford on June 12th, which was won by Gary Vesey with 42 points. In the Castle Stableford, Helen Martin was the winner ahead of Kathleen Loftus and Phil Emmett.

   This Sunday in Strokestown will see the men play for the lady captain’s prize with the draw being held on Friday evening. Elsewhere, Peter Daly won the most recent senior competition ahead of Joe Fingleton and Paddy Murray. The ladies’ competition was won by Margaret Cox and Kitty Dowd.

  The weather played havoc with the ladies competition due to take place last Tuesday in Castlerea. This week the ladies will be hoping to avoid the wind-swept look while competing for the Hession Cup.

  The club competition played last Sunday was won by Patrick O’Connor ahead of Tony Reilly. The Castlerea team will take on Enniscrone in the Barton Shield this Saturday while ‘Get Into Golf’ continues each Friday.   

  Finally in Boyle, Sunday’s Bart Moran Trophy was won by Brendan Gaffney (8) 64 nett, in second was Michael Reid (15) 65 nett, the gross prize went to Jim Mooney (10) with 78 and in third was Paddy Nangle (16) 65 nett. The Niamh Nangle Cup was won by Moira Egan with Tish Perry second.

  Thursday’s men’s 12-hole competition was won by Michael Simon with 26 points, with second and third going to Michael Bannon and Eamonn Perry respectively, both one point behind the winner.

  Friday’s 9-hole was won by Brendan Gaffney, Tish Perry, John Cryan and Criona O’Donnell on 3 under par.