Brigid’s youngsters complete four-in-a-row





Earley Consulting MFC ‘A’ Final

St. Brigid’s 1-10

Clann na nGael 0-6

St. Brigid’s made it four minor ‘A’ football titles in a row when they were too strong for Clann na nGael in what was a disappointing curtain-raiser at Dr. Hyde Park last Sunday. The lads from Kiltoom were by far the better team throughout but they found it difficult to shake off a determined Clann outfit.

  In fact, with just three minutes to go there was only three points between the teams and it was only in the final few minutes that Brigid’s tacked on four points without reply to run out the easy winners.

  The heavy showers made the surface slippy and scores were hard to come by. Fionnan Henry and Ben O’Carroll swapped pointed frees inside the opening five minutes before the only goal of the game arrived in the 9th minute when Eoghan Derwin set up Ben O’Carroll and he finished with aplomb.

  But despite looking the better side, Brigid’s couldn’t pull away and Clann were always in touch. Points from Cian Fallon-McGowan (2 frees) and Josh Lennon levelled the scores after 24 minutes. But points from Eoghan Derwin (a ’45) and Ben O’Carroll saw Brigid’s ahead by 1-3 to 0-4 at half-time.

  Cormac Canny hit the post when through on goal in the 38th minute and Brigid’s followed up with points from Derwin and  Robbie Dolan to open up a four-point lead by the 41st minute. But Clann were not relenting and it was a struggle for Brigid’s at times.

  Eventually Brigid’s got a grip on proceedings late on and the best player on the field, Ben O’Carroll, was at the centre of most of their good play. He kicked two points within a minute (one free), and when Brian Monaghan and sub Shane Kelly scored in injury-time the cup was on its way back to Kiltoom.

St. Brigid’s: Evan Gallagher; Faolan Kennedy, Sean Trundle, Liam Egan; Luke Griselain, Robbie Dolan (0-1), Shane Keenan; Brian O’Hara-Duggan, Ruaidhri Fallon; Brian Monaghan (0-1), Cormac Canny, Ultan Ó Ruairc; Ben O’ Carroll (1-5, 2 frees) Darragh Murray, Eoghan Derwin (0-2, ’45 free). Subs: Ciaran Quinn for Ó Ruairc (37), Conor Hand for O’Hara-Duggan (58), Gavin Daly for Egan (59), Luke O’Rourke for Keenan and Shane Kelly (0-1) for Derwin (both 62), Adam Samuels for Canny (63).

Clann na nGael: Declan McManus; Cian Gavin, Jason Ryan, Dan Westman; Paddy Gavin, Michael Kelly, Ian Harney; Aaron Oyiki, Tom Shine; Dean Reynolds, Josh Lennon (0-1), Mark Naughton; Cian Fallon-McGowan (0-3, frees), Fionnan Henry (0-1, free), Fearghus Lennon (0-1). Subs: Joe Duignan for Westmean (h/t), John Shine for Henry and John Feeney for Reynolds (51), Conor O’Reilly for Fallon-McGowan (63).

Referee: Brendan Healy.


Man of the Match:
Ben O’Carroll (St. Brigid’s)