Breaking Ball – November 24th


‘Dermot would have been proud’

Michael Glavey’s’ chairman Gerry Coffey described it as probably “the best day ever” for the club before remembering some of those who had played an integral part in the club’s history.

  “It’s probably the best day ever for our club but it is also a day when we remember those who have passed away and who would have loved to have been here today.

  “We remember the Earley family and especially the late Dermot Earley. How proud he would have been to be here today to see this. We also remember our late President Luke Hurley and there are a lot of people who played for our club over the years that will share in today’s win. This is for them,” he concluded.

Faithleach’s finish on a high!

St. Faithleach’s ended the adult football club season on a high when they edged out neighbours Kilbride in an entertaining Junior B decider at Strokestown on Sunday on a scoreline of 2-9 to 2-6.

  Faithleach’s were the better side early on and they led by 0-5 to 0-1 but a Dan O”Neill goal with five minutes left in the half saw the margin down to one. Then Gerry Lohan levelled the scores with a free.

  But there was drama before the break when Faithleach’s were awarded a penalty and it was dispatched by top scorer Jordan Donlon. Then Ryan Guinan scored a fine goal to help Faithleach’s to a 2-5 to1-3 lead at the break.

  Kilbride were back in business shortly after the break when Gerry Lohan scored a penalty. But the Faithleach’s response was immediate and four points without reply killed off any hopes of a Kilbride revival.

St. Faithleach’s: S O’Connor; S Garvey, B Scally, J Irwin; M Gill, MF O’Grady, K Nerney; D Murray, C Smith; B Hussey, P Wallace, D Cox; J Donlon (1-8), G McGrath, R Guinan (1-0). Subs: G Carberry for Garvey, S Walsh (0-1) for B Hussey.

Kilbride: J Farrell; B McDonald, J Shally, G McCormack; J Ferrick, D O’Rourke (0-1), J Farrell; D O’Neill (1-0), B Allen; P Clabby, R Garvey, D Hunt; M McDermott, S O’Neill, G Lohan (1-5). Subs: R Beisty for Allen, S Lohan for Clabby, P Foxe for Farrell, L Cassidy for Hunt, L Lapina for McCormack.

Club Ground of the Year

It was decided at a meeting of the County Development Committee at the weekend that Clann na nGael would be awarded ‘Club Ground of the Year’.

  Congratulations is extended to everyone involved in what is a huge achievement for the club. According to a statement from Clann, the award is due to the work carried out on the clubhouse and grounds over last two years and would not have been possible without the financial support of the Let’s Go With Clann members.