Breaking Ball – November 17th



Dominic’s search for new manager!

St. Dominic’s GAA Club are inviting expressions of interest for the position of manager of the Intermediate men’s football team for the 2018 and 2019 seasons. Anyone interested in this position can send their name in confidence to Closing date is Wednesday, 22nd November.


Rossies in Fr Manning Final!

Roscommon qualified for the 2017 Fr Manning Cup final where they will face Kildare this coming weekend after a one-sided 3-16 to 0-3 romp against Meath in Kiltoom last Saturday.

  In control in all sectors, Aaron McDermott supplied the goal as the home side led 1-8 to 0-1 at half-time. Fearghus Lennon and McDermott added further goals after the break and it was no more than Roscommon’s excellent play deserved.

  An outstanding display from the young Rossies who will now have an opportunity to make up for the disappointment of losing the Ted Webb final earlier this year when they face Kildare this Saturday in Longford.

Roscommon: D Connolly; C Brogan, D Farrell, K Gunning; C Quinn, J Hester, N Moran; D Murray, J Lohan; A McDermott (1-3), C Carthy (0-1), R Dolan (0-1); L Ormsby (0-3), F Lennon (2-2), J Fitzpatrick (0-3). Subs: S Cunnane for Murray, E Crawley for Carthy, J Doory (0-2) for Quinn, C Walsh for Dolan, J O’Beirne for Moran, S O’Neill (0-1) for Lohan.


Brigid’s’ dream year continues!

St. Brigid’s’ dream year at underage level continued with a convincing 2-10 to 1-5 win over Mayo champions Balla in the Minor ‘A’ decider at Bekan last Friday.

  Brian Derwin was impressive once again and he converted an early penalty to set them on their way. With Shane Cunnane, Ian O’Rourke, Donnacha Gately, Ciaran McBrearty and Ciaran Sugrue all playing well, Brigid’s were in control and when Sugrue scored Brigid’s’ second goal, it confirmed their superiority. Aaron Walsh responded with a goal to keep Balla in it but in truth, the Roscommon champions were never in trouble and coasted home in impressive fashion.

St. Brigid’s: S Smith; P Frost, R Minagh, P McGrath; K Connor, C McBrearty, M Haran; N Murray, S Cunnane (0-2); I O’Rourke (0-1), D Gately (0-3), E Egan (0-1); T O’Carroll, C Sugrue (1-1), B Derwin (1-2). Subs: D Murray for O’Carroll, R Dolan for Egan, C Quinn for Haran, R Smith for Sugrue.


A game too far for Tulsk!

Having played three games in five days to reach the final, Tulsk finally ran out of steam against an impressive Annagh Rovers side from Mayo in last Friday’s Minor ‘B’ Final at the Connacht Centre of Excellence, losing 0-10 to 0-3.

  Trailing 0-5 to 0-1 at the break, things went from bad to worse for the Roscommon side and despite a couple of converted frees from Thomas O’Rourke, Annagh Rovers ran out easy winners.

Tulsk: D Jordan; K Jennings, E Flynn, C Moylan; D Gaughan, G Galvin, F Moylan; D Coyne, L Cribben (0-1); D Connolly, T O’Rourke (0-2), J Egan; T Fitzmaurice, C Fahey, D Carbin. Subs: N McCann for Gaughan, L Galvin for Carbin.


O’Rourke for Club Rossie Banquet

The annual Club Rossie Banquet, which will feature the presentation of Connacht winners’ medals to the Roscommon senior team, takes place in the Hodson Bay Hotel on Friday, November 24th.

  Special guest will be Sunday Game analyst and two-time All-Ireland winner, Colm O’Rourke. Attendees can relive the 2017 season while enjoying a five-course meal and live music.  

  Tickets are priced at €50 with a table of 10 available for €400. Tickets are on sale at, Roscommon County Board offices (10 am to 4 pm) and from David 086-8399584 or Brian 087-2420896. Funds raised will go towards the development of inter-county teams for 2018.


Thursday night lights for young hurlers

U-17 hurlers will represent their clubs under the floodlights in Athleague tonight (Thursday 16th) in an 11-aside competition in memory of Roscommon hurling legend, Mike John Lane.

  The action will begin at 6.30 pm when Four Roads take on Athleague/Tremane. The second match of the evening features St. Dominic’s and Pádraig Pearses at 7.30 pm.