Boyle FF gear up for election

The forthcoming general election was on the minds of many members of Boyle Fianna Fáil this week as the local cumann met for its AGM in Daly’s Lounge.             The meeting was well attended and the following officers were elected for the coming year: Honorary Presidents Mr. Dan Sheridan and Mr John Murphy; Chairperson Mrs Kitty Shannon; Vice Chairperson Mrs. Kathleen Murray; Secretary Mr. John Murphy; Treasurers Mr. Peter Flannery TC and Mr. Michael Corrigan; Membership Officer, Mrs. Doreen Caldbeck TC; Delegates to Compare Ceantair, Mrs. Kathleen Murray, Mr James McTiernan and Mr. John Murphy; Youth Officer Ms. Denise Sheridan; PRO Mrs. Mary Clifford TC.             The meeting heard discussions on membership and the upcoming general election as well as the canvass programme, local authority housing and repairs to council houses. The Lough Key forest Park development was also discussed. The Chairperson Mrs. Kitty Shannon extended thanks to the Daly family and also to the print media for their assistance over the year. The meeting was addressed by John Ellis TD, Cllr. John Cummins, Cllr. Rachel Doherty and local town councillors. The meeting concluded with votes of sympathy to families in the area who had been bereaved recently.