Bishop Doran appoints new parish priests throughout diocese

Canon Eugene McLoughlin will retire as the parish priest of Roscommon on July 31st, it has been confirmed.

  Bishop of Elphin Kevin Doran has unveiled a series of diocesan appointments which will take effect from July 31st.

  Canon McLoughlin will become the Administrator of Athleague and Fuerty, while Fr. John Cullen, currently parish priest in Kiltoom, will replace him as the parish priest in Roscommon town.

  The new appointment in Athleague and Fuerty follows the death of Fr. John Leogue, who was parish priest there at the time of his untimely passing. 

  Fr. Michael McManus, curate in Drum, near Athlone, will become the parish priest in Kiltoom, replacing Fr. Cullen. His position in Drum will be filled by Fr. Kazimir Wrobel, presently a curate in Drum.

  Canon Joseph Fitzgerald will retire as the parish priest in Castlerea and be replaced by Fr. John McManus, who holds the same position in Ballyleague.

Canon Fitzgerald will live in Ballygar and will join the team at Sacred Heart Parish, Roscommon town.  In Tulsk, Fr. John Gannon from Johannesburg will be the new parish priest, succeeding Monsignor Austin McKeon, who died recently.

  Elsewhere in the diocese, Fr. Dusmanta Mahanyak, from India, will leave St. Mary’s, Sligo, and will become the Administrator at Ballyleague.

  Fr. Julian Lupot, from the Philippines, will replace him in Sligo.

  Fr. Tomasz Grzegorzewski has resigned as the parish priest of Aughrim and Kilmore and will take sabbatical leave. Fr. Stephen Ezenwegbu, from Nigeria, will become the Administrator of Aughrim and Kilmore.