Ballymoe are champions

Following the weekend results Ballymoe F.C are the new champions of the Athlone Nissan Division 1, Lisnamult Celtic are the Casey Ford Division 3 champions and Cup holders Castlerea Celtic are through to the Semi Finals of the G & H sponsored Challenge Cup.   After an absence of five seasons Ballymoe FC will play in the Premier Division of the Roscommon &  District League next season as a result of winning the Athlone Nissan Division 1 Championship. They beat Laurencetown 4-0 at Laurencetown in their last league game of the season. Joe Healy and Gerry McDonald scored two goals early in the game and Barry Gaffey and Ray Hynes completed the scoring later in the game.    Congratulations are also extended to Lisnamult Celtic who are the new Casey Ford Division 3 champions. They beat Cam Celtic 5-1 on Friday evening at Roscommon and were 5-4 winners over Glen Celtic on Sunday. The Brazilians Edimielson scored three and Maxwell and Rodrigo added one each on Friday.    Edimielson got a second hat-trick on Sunday and a Kieran Gannon own goal and a volley from Dida made up their total.    John Keavney scored twice for Glen Celtic and Padraig Geraghty and Thomas Killackey added one each for the Glenamaddy side, who now have a play-off for promotion to Division 2.   Castlerea Celtic beat fellow Premier Division side Moore Utd. 3-1 to reach the Semi Final of the G&H sponsored Challenge Cup. Ronan Curran and Martin Mulvihill gave the winners a 2-0 lead at half-time and Packie O’Brien scored a third in the last minute.   Dysart finished runners-up in the Athlone Nissan Division 1 and will play in the Premier Division next season. Mark Higgins, Andy Higgins, Niall Corbett and James Coyne scored in their 4 -1 win over Baylough Rvs. at Dysart.    Shiven Rvs Beat Ballinagare 3-0 at Ballinagare and they play Cloonfad Utd. in a play-off for a place in the Premier Division next season. Kevin Crehan scored two and Shane Harkin one for the Newbridge side.   In the Abbey Hotel Division 2 Cup the Ballinlough side Lough Harps had an impressive 4-0 win over Ballinasloe Town. All the goals came in the second half.  Joe Neenan scored two for the winners and Jonathan Maloney and Simon Walsh added one each. Shiven Rovers beat Castlerea Celtic 1-0 at Newbridge. Noel Dervan scored the only goal of the game after 15 minutes of play. Moore Utd. came out 3-0 winners over CP Ajax and the Manor Utd. v Skyvalley Rvs. game was postponed due to a bereavement.    Cam Celtic beat neighbours Rahara Rvs. 4-1 at Cam in their last league game in  division 1 this season.  Peter O’Brien scored from the penalty spot and Keith McLoughlin, Shane Dolan and Brendan Lohan added three more for the winners. David Glennon scored for Rahara Rvs.   Strokestown Utd. beat Roscommon Town 1-0 at Roscommon. Conor Silke scored the only goal of the game.   Loughglynn Utd. finished as runners-up in the Casey Ford Division 3 and are promoted to Division 2 next season. They drew 1-1 away to Glen Celtic on Friday evening and drew 2-2 away to Cam Celtic on Sunday. Donald Ward scored for Loughglynn on Friday and John Keavney replied for Glen Celtic with a late equaliser. Eddie Mc Donald and Chris Collins scored their goals on Sunday.    Glen Celtic ended Skyvalley Rvs.’ season when they beat them 3-1 at Glenamaddy in a preliminary round of the Premier Division Cup. Alan Oliver converted a penalty kick to give Skyvalley Rvs. an early lead. Thomas Giblin headed an equaliser and Jason Fannon volleyed in a second to give Glen Celtic a 2-1 advantage at the break. Thomas Curtin made sure of the victory with a late goal for the Glenamaddy side who now play Ahascragh Utd. in the next round.    Ballinasloe Town beat Cloonfad Utd. 2-0 at Cloonfad in the same competition. Glen Campbell scored their first after twenty-four minutes of play and Darragh Concannon added a second from the penalty spot in the second half after Henry Loughnane was fouled. Heatmerchants beat Moylough 3-0, also in the Premier Division Cup.   Ballymoe beat Cloonfad Utd in their Division 3 game played at Ballymoe. Billy Kelly scored both their goals and Tom Beirne replied for Cloonfad Utd. Ericsson F.C drew 3-3 with Rahara Rvs. John McEntyre, Paul Meehan and Fran Mullhall scored their goals.