Awards ceremony celebrates Ballygar students’ achievements

In a memorable event held on May 25th at the Mattie McDonagh Centre, the Leaving Certificate Graduation and Awards Ceremony showcased the remarkable accomplishments of students at Coláiste Mhuire, Ballygar. The ceremony honoured their outstanding performance in academic and extracurricular pursuits, highlighting the dedication and hard work of the school’s Student Council, Leaving Certificate Prefects, and various subject departments throughout the Senior Cycle.

Sinéad Scott and Ben Coyle (the Head Girl and Head Boy) were highly commended for their exceptional leadership and representation of the school as ambassadors. Liam Óg Coyle was also recognised for his remarkable achievement in hurling, having reached the All-Ireland U-20 hurling final with Roscommon.

One of the most prestigious awards of the evening, the Brian Devine Community Service Award, sponsored by Monsignor Michael Devine, was presented in memory of his late brother, who dedicated his life to serving the Ballygar community. This year, Sinéad Scott received the award, accompanied by a generous prize of €1,000, in recognition of her significant contributions to the school, parish, and wider community.

Leon Boyd was the deserving recipient of the Moira Gilleran Humanitarian Award. This accolade celebrated Leon’s exceptional character, which shines brightly even in the face of adversity.

The Leaving Certificate Above and Beyond Award recognised individuals who had displayed extraordinary engagement, participation, effort, and dedication in pursuit of their best, whether in academics, extracurricular activities, or cocurricular endeavours. Sinead Scott received this prestigious award for her exceptional commitment. Similarly, Doireann Downey was honoured with the LCA Above and Beyond Award.

Bartlomiej Ozga was presented with the LCA World of Work Award, a testament to his outstanding performance and readiness for the professional world.

The Cara Award, which embodies friendship and inclusivity, was determined through a vote among Leaving Certificate students. Christopher Moore emerged as the worthy recipient of this recognition. In addition, Ben Coyle was honoured with the Coláiste Mhuire School Spirit award, acknowledging his exemplary behaviour and attitude, which align closely with the school’s values and ethos.

Among the other notable recipients, Piotr Wandzel was awarded the Leaving Certificate Applied Student of the Year, while Oisín McDonnell received the title of Leaving Certificate Student of the Year. Congratulations to both students for their exceptional achievements.