Appeal for volunteers at Community Games AGM

The Annual General Meeting of County Roscommon Community Games Association was held in the Abbey Hotel, Roscommon on Thursday, 22nd November.  Over 40 delegates from all around the county attended the meeting, enabling the election of a new committee to take place.     Fr. Raymond Browne, President of the Roscommon Community Games, was also in attendance and addressed the meeting, thanking everyone who gave their time and commitment to the Games.    The election of officers was took place, with the outcome as follows: Chairperson: Tom Moran. Vice Chairperson: Elizabeth Donlon. Secretary: Anne Keane.  Treasurer: Kathleen Walsh. PRO: Dorothy Filby. Games Director: Tom Moran. Games Secretary: Bernie Ryan. Development Officers: Bernie Ryan & Yvonne Hanbury. Youth Officer: Sharon Ryan. NEC Delegate: Maura McCormack. Sub NEC Delegate: Anne Keane. Provincial Delegates: Tom Moran & Anne Keane. Executive Committee: Martin Dolan, Eileen Beirne, Moya Gordon, Declan Regan, Marie Keane, Emer Tansey, P.J. Carty.    After the election of officers, concerns were raised about the failing interest around the county, on local committees, from parents whose children are participating in the games.     It should be stressed that without the support from parents and volunteers, in forming local committees, the Games could end in many areas, denying children the opportunity to participate in over forty different events.    The programme of events for 2008 will commence earlier in the year next year to enable finalists to participate in the major finals which will start in May.