Anger as Bertie ignores Finneran claims

While not entirely unexpected, the omission of Roscommon TD Michael Finneran from Taoiseach Bertie Ahern’s list of Junior Ministers – revealed on Wednesday – has been condemned locally.    There is extreme disappointment in political circles in County Roscommon following the omission of local poll-topping TD Michael Finneran, who was overlooked for one of the twenty jobs on offer.   The local Fianna Fail organisation was hoping that Deputy Finneran would get a call from the Taoiseach after his poll-topping performance in the recent general election, an achievement which earned him a second Dail term.    Cllr. Paddy Kilduff said that he and the Fianna Fail organisation in Roscommon had been hoping that Deputy Finneran would be picked as a Junior minister on this occasion.    Speaking to The People yesterday (Wednesday) evening Cllr. Kilduff said that he was very disappointed that Deputy Finnrean was overlooked.   ‘We are devestated by this news. We were hoping that Michael would be rewarded after his hard work for this constituency in recent years but sadly it was not to be.   ‘No-one can deny that Michael Finneran has delivered for the people of Roscommon and his massive vote at the recent general election was proof of that.   ‘It’s very disappointing for him not to get a Junior Minister’s job – he deserved it’ concluded Cllr. Kilduff.   Interestingly the new list of junior ministries does not include Deputy Noel Treacy of East Galway, who has been dropped. However Deputy Michael Kitt gets a junior ministry in Mr. Treacy’s constituency.   Wednesday’s appointments mean that there are very few ministers, junior or senior, in the West of Ireland. Eamonn O’ Cuiv (Community, Gaeltacht and Rural Affairs) from Galway West is the only senior minister. There are no senior or junior ministers in Mayo, Sligo, Roscommon or Leitrim yet – Jimmy Devins from Sligo will join Marie Hoctor and John McGuinness as new Junior Ministers once new legislation has been enacted.    Many people will see this latest announcement by the Governmemt as a further snub to the West and to County Roscommon in particular.   Having unveiled Tom Kitt as Government Chief Whip and Dick Roche as Junior Minister (European Affairs) last week the Taoiseach announced that the following TDs will serve as Junior Ministers: Brendan Smith (Children) and Pat The Cope Gallagher, John Browne, Michael Ahern, Noel Ahern, Sean Power, Batt O’Keeffe, Tony Killeen, Conor Lenihan, Mary Wallace, Sean Haughey, Michael Kitt, Trevor Sargent, Michael Kitt, Pat Carey and Billy Kelleher.