Aidan to receive top Sport Volunteers Award

Roscommon’s Aidan Farrell will receive nationwide recognition for his dedicated work with Creggs Rugby Football Club this week, as he will be awarded the Roscommon award at this week’s virtual Federation of Irish Sport Volunteers in Sport awards, proudly supported by EBS Mortgage Masters.

Aidan has been a driving force behind Creggs RFC, including overseeing the completion of the First World Rugby accredited 3G pitch in Connacht, as well as two new grass pitches – all of which are available to local schools and sports clubs. His love of sport in general and his awareness of the importance of sport in the development of young people has driven him to bring this development – and indeed the club itself – to new levels that all of the local community are both proud and thankful for. Aidan’s vision of opening up the sport to all includes targeting young girls and women to become involved in sport, and the club policy of making their facility available to schools and other sports clubs has increased participation for hundreds of people from small children to adults.

He has given, and continues to give, countless hours of his time and expertise to both Creggs RFC and Roscommon CBS and has been extremely generous in his sponsorship of other sports through his business. Aidan will be honoured this week at the special virtual awards ceremony.

The Volunteers in Sport Awards were created to champion the contribution, commitment and dedication of the army of 450,000 volunteers across the country that go above and beyond by giving their time to Irish sport and physical activity each year. These volunteers dedicate some 37.2 million hours across the country’s 13,000+ sports clubs and associations every year.

Towards the end of 2020, members of the public, as well as sports clubs and governing bodies, were invited to nominate an individual whose contributions to sport has made a real difference to their community, club or county.

The nominations and award recipients were selected by a judging panel consisting of eleven individuals, drawn from sports administration, the volunteer community, and media – including Paraic Duffy (former Director General of the GAA), Marie Crowe (RTÉ broadcaster), and Niamh Daffy (CEO of CARA).

The awards will be streamed live each evening from 7 pm on the Federation of Irish Sport’s Facebook page ( with the awards schedule laid out as follows: the Leinster and Special Recognition Award will be awarded on Tuesday, January 12th, the Munster, Connacht and Special Recognition Award will be awarded on Wednesday, January 13th, and the Ulster and Outstanding Achievement Award will be awarded on Thursday, January 14th.

For more information on the awards, visit