A Royal audience for Roscommon minor hurlers

Roscommon’s Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship gets underway this Saturday when they host Meath in Athleague.

There is a wealth of good talent at underage level in Roscommon and if the players can play as a collective unit focused on their task they can meet the challenge that any opposition throws at them.

Preparation for the championship have been greatly assisted by participation in the Connacht GAA Niall McInerney Tournament in Galway.

The competition, named after the Galway legend, saw Roscommon beat a Clare U-17 team and Galway U-16 team and narrowly lose out to Galway U-17s in the final.

This performance by the players has given the management team of Kieran Farrell, Joe Connaughton, Francis Kelly and Kevin McGeeney plenty of options to consider ahead of this opening fixture.

The team is trained by Athleague native Stephen Glennon, who is now living in Craughwell and is the trainer of the Craughwell Senior Hurling team.

Roscommon have also had two challenge games against Craughwell and Mayo, which have given each player an insight into his game and how he needs to develop in order to become an effective county player.

Roscommon will look to players like Michael Kelleghan, Jack Gunning and Michael Feeley to shore up the defence. They will look to Gearoid Keenan, Thomas Clayton and Eoghan Costello in midfield and Daniel Glynn, Brian Lawlor, John Murray and Tommy Doyle up front to do the scoring.

Saturday’s game throws in at 2 pm and your support would be appreciated.

Roscommon Minor Hurling panel: L. Og Murray (Athleague-Tremane), K. Kelly (Padraig Pearses), L. Clogher (Padraig Pearses), M. Kelleghan (Athleague-Tremane), J. Gunning (Oran), S. Downey (Padraig Pearses), M. Feeley (St. Dominic’s), T. Clayton (Athleague-Tremane), T. Cullen (Roscommon Gaels), J. Donoghue (Padraig Pearses), A. Clogher (Four Roads), S. Clogher (Four Roads), G. Keenan (Oran), E. Costello (Padraig Pearses), D. Kelly (Four Roads), J. Mulry (Four Roads), R. Kilcline (St. Dominic’s), B. Lawlor (Four Roads), T. Doyle (St. Dominic’s), D. Glynn (Padraig Pearses), J. Donoghue (Four Roads), M. Farrell (Oran), K. Feehily (Padraig Pearses), A. Lyons (Athleague-Tremane), D. Ryan (Padraig Pearses), B. Fallon (Athleague-Tremane), R. Murray (Roscommon Gaels), J. Walker (Roscommon Gaels) and J. Curley (Padraig Pearses).